Book Reviews · Monthly Wrap-Ups

Reading Wrap-up: July 2017

Hello! It’s been a while.

Before I write a final sappy post for The Leaning Tower of Tomes, here’s what I read in July 2017. Surprisingly, I read 6 books! 4 were required for a Creative Writing course I took, but I’m glad I read books I wouldn’t have picked up otherwise.


What I read in July 2017:

China’s Son: Growing Up in the Cultural Revolution by Da Chen
♥♥♥♥

A gut-wrenching memoir about the author’s childhood during the Cultural Revolution, and the trials he went through to secure an education.


Old Snow, poems by Bei Dao, translated by Bonnie S. McDougall and Chen Maiping
♥♥♥♥

Poems revolving around the author’s life after the Tiananmen Square incident in 1989.


The Lake Has No Saint by Stacey Waite
♥♥

Poems about the author’s identity struggle growing up.


When My Brother Was an Aztec by Natalie Diaz
♥♥♥

Poems about the author’s childhood and culture growing up on a Reservation.


How To Be Drawn by Terrance Hayes
♥♥

Confusing as heck, honestly. Extremely different and original, but hard to decipher.


We the Animals by Justin Torres
♥♥♥♥

A dark, beautiful coming of age novella.


What was your favorite book you read in July?
Have you read any of these books?
If not, do any of them pique your interest?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

Got something to say? SPILL!

