Tags, Awards & Challenges

The St. Patrick’s Day Book Tag!

Tags, Awards & Challenges

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Not gonna even be ashamed: I was tagged a whole year ago and am just now answering the questions. Thank you Nora, for tagging me. Sorry it’s super late! (This tag was originally created by Emily from Embuhlee Liest.)


1. End of the rainbow: What book did you have a hard time tracking down a copy of?

Okay, so I have a story for you. A long, long time ago, little Mallory was obsessed with dolphins. And whales. But especially dolphins, to the point where she made her own little “dolphin facts newsletter” that she typed up, printed on ombre blue paper, and sent through the post to her friends. Little Mallory was a bit scary, actually.

ANYWAY. Mallory’s mother randomly came across a middle-grade book called Dolphin Diaries by Ben M. Baglio, and the first book was called Into the Blue. Little Mallory became even more obsessed and read the heck out of that book. And then nagged and nagged her mother to take her to the bookstore to buy the second installment, called Touching the Waves. Well, soon Mallory was addicted to these books about a girl who goes on a year-long expedition with her marine biologist parents to research dolphins. Except… it became harder and harder to track down the books as they progressed through the series. Mind you, this was when Barnes and Noble and Borders were still booming. And after a while, Mallory couldn’t find the later books stocked. So she had to ask her mother to order the books from Amazon, which her mother so kindly did, but little Mallory was an impatient tree frog and it just about killed her waiting for the next Dolphin Diaries book.

That was my earliest recollection of having a hard time finding/acquiring a book. But now you know all about Dolphin Diaries, one of my most beloved childhood series ever. Dolphin Diaries will always have a special place in my heart. ❤


2. Pot of gold: When you found that book, was it worth the quest?

HECK YES.


3. Celebrating a rich heritage: Name a book that contained a well-developed culture.

I’d say these books have well-developed worlds, but I suppose culture can also be included in there for a few of them: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern: one of the best “circus” books out there. Chalice by Robin McKinley: I wish I could ever write something half as beautiful as this, my favorite Robin McKinley book and one of her more underrated novels. The Giver by Lois Lowry: dystopia contained in a utopia, or a utopia contained in a dystopia. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab: multiple Londons. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman: alternate/parallel worlds and ice bears and daemons and dust and steampunk and agh I freaking love this book.


4. Shamrock Shakes: What’s your favorite food to snack on while reading?

I don’t usually snack while reading. I’m more likely to eat lunch while reading a book, but I prefer reading in my rocking chair or in bed. Crumbs in bed or trying to hold a mug of tea in one hand isn’t optimal. I want to focus 100% on my reading!


5. Leprechaun: Do you own a rare/collector’s copy of a book?

No. I have many old books, and some autographed books, but nothing I’d consider rare or a collector’s edition. I’m a poor student; I borrow 90% of the books I read from the library. The other 8% are review copies, and the final 2% are books I already own. I’d love to own collector’s editions of beloved series and classics, but that probably won’t happen for a while…


6. Four Leaf Clover: Name a book you thought would be ‘just another generic book’, but turned out to be something great.

I tend not to read “generic” books, or books that sound generic. Instead, here are some books that surprised me and that I didn’t expect to love nearly as much as I did: Hourglass by Myra McEntire: time travel and southern belles done right. Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger: a whimsical and very underrated series. The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey: bird people and dragon people aren’t that scary. Annie, Between the States by L.M. Elliott: girl power during the Civil War. Fire Bringer by David Clement-Davies: deer are even more fascinating than wolves. Stuart Little by E.B. White: having a mouse child is kind of weird.


7. Irish Whiskey: What’s your favorite tradition of St. Patty’s Day?

Probably wearing something green! Which is a color I don’t normally wear, but I can pull off once a year. 😉


And that’s the end of the all the questions! Thanks again, Nora, for tagging me!

And now…

I tag YOU!

Yup, taking the cop out. Feel free to answer these questions or not in the comments below or as your own blog post. 🙂

In the meantime, though, do you celebrate St. Patty’s? Comment below letting me know!


Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

Got something to say? SPILL!

