Book Reviews

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte | Mini Review

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

My copy: Originally published 1847. Daily Lit, 194 email installments. (The book cover used in this review does not reflect the copy I read.)

Source: Daily Lit.

add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis:

Charlotte Brontë’s most beloved novel describes the passionate love between the courageous orphan Jane Eyre and the brilliant, brooding, and domineering Rochester.

The loneliness and cruelty of Jane’s childhood strengthens her natural independence and spirit, which prove invaluable when she takes a position as a governess at Thornfield Hall. But after she falls in love with her sardonic employer, her discovery of his terrible secret forces her to make a heart-wrenching choice. Ever since its publication in 1847, Jane Eyre has enthralled every kind of reader, from the most critical and cultivated to the youngest and most unabashedly romantic. It lives as one of the great triumphs of storytelling and as a moving and unforgettable portrayal of a woman’s quest for self-respect.


Thoughts on Jane Eyre:

  • I went into Jane Eyre having seen the film adaptation, but I enjoyed the original story much more. I was especially struck by the incredible descriptions and vocabulary, and how beautiful and vivid the writing was.
  • Since this story is the full account of Jane’s life, there are parts where the story is not so much a story as it is, well, her day to day activities. While there are extremely slow and boring sections, the gorgeous writing made me continue reading. I barely even skimmed because I didn’t want to miss Charlotte Bronte’s flowery prose. And I normally don’t like flowery writing, but this was an exception.
  • As a heroine, Jane will not go on my list of favorite literary characters, but she was never boring. She was smart but quiet, and a strong woman in a socially acceptable way for that time period. She gets her happy ending, which is terrific for her, but it does feel very predictable and too perfect.
  • Mr. Rochester… I liked him, but I didn’t love him. At first I thought, This man talks A LOT, but he warmed up to me, just like he warmed up to Jane. It was difficult at first to see why Jane liked him and why he liked Jane, but they had a great rapport and balanced each other’s stark personalities well.
  • My least favorite thing about this book? The horrid excuse for a human being Mrs. Reed is. I utterly loathe adults who accuse and judge others so unfairly and with such malice.
  • I heartily enjoyed Jane Eyre. These days it’s rare for me to find a classic I really absorb and read almost word for word. ♦


Have you read Jane Eyre?
If you haven’t, would you be interested to?
What’s a book you read that had the most gorgeous writing?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

2 thoughts on “Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte | Mini Review

  1. I’ve not read Jane Eyre, nor any other classics, but I’ve always wanted to. My problem has always been over-doing the prose, but that’s to be expected with these books. I think I’ll try to prevail and give it a shot. Good review.

    Like

    1. Sometimes flowery prose can be too flowery and a chore to read. I feel like some authors can pull it off well but others look like they’re trying too hard. For Jane Eyre, it works, maybe because the flowery prose makes up for the fact that there’s not a huge amount of actual plot, and the fact that this book was written a very long time ago, so it seems fitting.

      Liked by 1 person

Got something to say? SPILL!

