Book Reviews

Frayed by Kara Terzis | Book Review

29057066

Frayed by Kara Terzis.

My copy: Sourcebooks Fire (Sourcebooks), June 2016. Egalley (review copy), 304 pages.

Source: I received this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, Sourcebooks!

Disclaimer: While I do know the author through the world of blogging, my online relationship with Kara does not in any way affect my review. This is my honest and completely unbiased opinion.

add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis:

Dear Kesley,
My therapist tells me I should write you a letter. Like flushing all my thoughts and feelings out of my system and onto paper. I tell her it’s a stupid idea.
But here I am, writing a letter to a dead girl. Where do I start? Where did our story begin? From the moment you were born…or died?
I’ll start with the moment I found out the truth about you. Your lies and my pain. Because it always begins and ends with you.
And that end began when Rafe Lawrence came back to town…

Ava Hale will do anything to find her sister’s killer…although she’ll wish she hadn’t. Because the harder Ava looks, the more secrets she uncovers about Kesley, and the more she begins to think that the girl she called sister was a liar. A sneak. A stranger.

And Kesley’s murderer could be much closer than she thought…

A debut novel from Wattpad award-winner Kara Terzis, Frayed is a psychological whodunit that will keep you guessing!


SPOILER FREE PART OF THE REVIEW:

If you want to be completely surprised by this book, don’t read any reviews because so many people give away a giant twist without actually spoiling anything. (I’m looking at you Cait @ Paper Fury, and your Goodreads review!) That being said, it’s a great small-town murder mystery that I couldn’t put down. The ending is also insane. Frayed does have its flaws, however: the characters especially come off as cliche sometimes and it’s not the most original plot, but I really liked it and do recommend checking it out if you want a suspenseful thriller with a very light romance. The focus is 98% on the mystery of “who dunnit?” and for that I was so grateful.

So like, stop reading this right now and go read Frayed, because I’m going to go into mild spoilers below. Goodbyeeee!


SPOILER PART OF THE REVIEW — READ AT YOUR OWN RISK!

You’re still here?

Okay.

Here’s that giant twist people mention without it being an actual spoiler:

It’s an unreliable narrator.

So. Connect the dots: Murder mystery. Unreliable narrator. Deep-doop-deep… The narrator is the murderer. Which isn’t mind-blowing or new, but it does take away one element of surprise.

However, even though the culprit is super obvious, the journey is pretty intriguing, and the main question of why the protagonist killed her sister is an answer you’ll really want to know. I certainly did.

The ending was like WHOA but didn’t shock me nearly as much as it will probably shock a lot of people, simply because the topic that is uncovered at the finale is something I’ve actually seen a lot of on television. (Hint: I’ve seen this trope in Korean dramas. And no, it’s not amnesia.) It was a really cool twist that perfectly explained the whole unreliable narrator thing going on, and there were clues, it wasn’t as out-of-the-blue as you might think. Very sad, too, because the topic is sort of, um, a coping mechanism. That’s all I’m going to say.

As much as I want to talk about the “topic”, I won’t, just in case some of you who haven’t read the book are still reading this. Hulloo. Didn’t I tell you to peace out earlier?

Frayed surprised me in a great way. It was a fast read that I felt very invested in. Applause to Kara, fellow book blogger extraordinaire, for penning such a great debut. I’ll be on the lookout for her next project! ♦


Have you read Frayed?
If you haven’t, would you be interested to?
What’s a suspense thriller/small town mystery you’ve read and enjoyed?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

2 thoughts on “Frayed by Kara Terzis | Book Review

  1. Thanks for not posting any spoilers(I read the first part only)I have had this book on my TBR. I haven’t read any reviews about it. Reading this post has made me want to read the book soon!

    Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

