Book Reviews

Dreamology by Lucy Keating | Book Review

25817310

Dreamology by Lucy Keating.

My copy: HarperTeen (Harper Collins Publishers), April 2016. Hardcover, 322 pages.

Source: Library.

add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis:

Vibrantly offbeat and utterly original, Lucy Keating’s debut novel combines the unconventional romance of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind with the sweetness and heart of Jenny Han.

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together, they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist.

But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. Real Max is nothing like Dream Max. He’s stubborn and complicated. And he has a whole life Alice isn’t a part of. Getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped.

Alarmingly, when their dreams start to bleed into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?


Thoughts on Dreamology:

  • First–THAT COVER. Is beautiful. So simple, but so striking and whimsical.
  • Dreamology was not the story I thought it would be, but I was still pleasantly surprised. I didn’t think Alice and Max would work together so soon; I actually wanted more angst and mystery, to be completely honest. Ha!
  • I was in a bit of a reading rut, so the first half of the book didn’t really stick with me. Then I read the last half in about two days and was considerably more impressed and actually enjoyed it. I did skim a bit, but I was feeling more invested in the story finally.
  • This was so fluffy. I wasn’t expecting so much fluffy, but I was okay with that in the end. Sometimes I need a break from all the dark high fantasy I read, right?
  • Dreams are hella fascinating, especially the science regarding them. Sadly, the book doesn’t really dive deep into the science and psychology of dreaming; it went the light and fluffy and dreamy route.
  • This book is all about dreams, and how dreams and reality became one and the same for Alice and Max. The chapters that were strictly Alice’s dreams I will admit I skimmed and skipped sometimes. If you’ve been around the blog for a while, you know very well that I just don’t like reading dreams and flashbacks in novels. So the fact that this book, which is entirely about dreaming, didn’t snag me with the actual dream sequences says a lot.
  • Um, the resolution to the dreaming was a bit too easy. And not very well explained, either. It felt very rushed and tacked-on–and mimicked the endings of so many other books. Too many.
  • In fiction, hilarious and hyper supporting characters like Oliver are absolutely wonderful; they often steal the spotlight. In real life, Oliver would be the biggest idiot around and I honestly wouldn’t want to hang out with him all the time because he would be exhausting.
  • Everyone got their happily ever after or the closure they needed in the end, EVERYONE. A bit too perfect, but cute nonetheless.

In the end, Dreamology was a light, easy read. There’s nothing particularly standout-ish about it, but I do recommend it and will remember it fondly if it ever comes up again. ♦


Have you read Dreamology?
If you haven’t, would you be interested to?
What’s a book about dreams you’ve read?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

3 thoughts on “Dreamology by Lucy Keating | Book Review

Got something to say? SPILL!

