Monthly Wrap-Ups

Reading Wrap-up: May 2016 (yup, this is SUPER-DUPER late, I know)

May and June really got away from me… Almost this entire first half of the year I haven’t felt super motivated to read or blog. In the spring I read mainly graphic novels, comics, and manga. However, now that it’s summer and life has gotten a bit less stressful lately, I’m back in full swing, ready to tackle my TBR pile again and catch up on my Goodreads challenge!

In May 2016, I managed to read 10 books, though most of them were still graphic novels, comics, and manga. June isn’t over yet, but I have read one actual novel as of writing this post! (Wow. Isn’t that incredibly impressive? i.e. Not.) For now, let’s just look at what I read in May. Here are the books, organized by rating. (Also, I’m working on reviews for a lot of these books, so hopefully, if all goes according to plan, they’ll be up on the blog within the next number of weeks.)


What I read in May 2016:

4 stars

29800 17210470 10912036 23017947 17465574 18809235

Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life by Bryan Lee O’Malley // Boxers by Gene Luen Yang // Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, Volume 2 by Naoko Takeuchi // Ms. Marvel, Volume 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson // Blue is the Warmest Color by Julie Maroh // East of West, Volume 2: We Are All One by Jonathan Hickman

3 stars

21979832 26118377 263173

The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig // The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge // Vampire Knight, Volume 2 by Matsuri Hino

2 stars

1980737

Sword Quest by Nancy Yi Fan


I started off May with Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life by Bryan Lee O’Malley. I’d previously read Bryan’s Seconds, which I loved, so I was anticipating his famous Scott Pilgrim — which I really loved. I enjoy Bryan’s humor and his fun art style. I definitely recommend checking out all his books.

Next, I reread Sword Quest by Nancy Yi Fan, the prequel to Swordbird. Meh. It’s better than the first book, but it’s still so juvenile. Then I finally finished The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig. It wasn’t what I’d hoped it would be. In terms of time travel books this year, Passenger by Alexandra Bracken does the whole fantasy element much better.

I got back on a graphic novel kick with Boxers by Gene Luen Yang, the first in a companion duology set in ancient China. I didn’t know what to expect from Boxers, but I ended up absolutely riveted. It’s a very thought-provoking read and tackles some heavy themes like war and religion. I might like it even more than Gene’s best-known work American Born Chinese.

Following the serious graphic novel set in China, I read the lighthearted 2nd volume of Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon by Naoko Takeuchi. Yup, yup — Tuxedo Mask is my favorite character in the series so far.

The last novel I read in May was The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge. Years and years ago as a child I read Frances’s Fly by Night, which may have been a bit too complicated for my young mind, even though I was eating middle grade like it was candy. I was interested in The Lie Tree based on cover and premise, but was sadly disappointed. Maybe Frances Hardinge just isn’t the right writer for me.

And then I went back to graphic novels, comics, and manga: Vampire Knight, Volume 2 by Matsuri Hino, Ms. Marvel, Volume 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson, Blue is the Warmest Color by Julie Maroh, and East of West, Volume 2: We Are All One by Jonathan Hickman.

Vampire Knight, Volume 2 was entertaining, and I appreciated the growing plot. Nothing surprised me, though, since I’ve watched the anime. Generation Why really solidified my love for the Ms. Marvel series. It builds so much upon the first volume and I do really want to get my hands on volume 3. Blue is the Warmest Color was beautiful and sad. I read it in one sitting despite the fact that I found the cursive font a bit hard to read. And finally, I finished off the month with the killer second volume of my new favorite comic series, East of West: We Are All One. Saga is my favorite comic series, but East of West is really creeping up to it. I highly recommend it — especially if you’re a Saga fan!


What was your favorite book you read in May?
Have you read any of these books?
If not, do any of them pique your interest?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

Got something to say? SPILL!

