Book Reviews

I Hate Fairyland, Vol. 1: Madly Ever After by Skottie Young | Mini-Review

29864924

I Hate Fairyland, Vol. 1: Madly Ever After by Skottie Young. Colored by Jean-Francois Beaulieu and lettered by Nate Piekos. I Hate Fairyland, #1.

My copy: Image Comics, April 26th, 2016. Egalley (review copy), 134 pages.

Source: I received this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, Image Comics and Diamond Book Distributors!

add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis:

From superstar writer and artist Skottie Young (Rocket Raccoon, Wizard of OZ, Fortunately, The Milk), comes the first volume of an all-new series of adventure and mayhem. An Adventure Time/Alice in Wonderland-style epic that smashes it’s cute little face against grown-up, Tank Girl/Deadpool-esque violent madness. Follow Gert, a forty year old woman stuck in a six year olds body who has been stuck in the magical world of Fairyland for nearly thirty years. Join her and her giant battle-axe on a delightfully blood soaked journey to see who will survive the girl who HATES FAIRYLAND. Issues #1-5.


Thoughts upon finishing I Hate Fairyland:

  • This. Was. Amazing.
  • Definitely Wonderland inspired, but it goes so much further with fairy tale ideas. I got hints of Disney, too.
  • Gertrude was an utter terror. This little girl/grown woman was an insane little sadist, killing anyone who got in her way or who annoyed her with guns, axes, and dragons. But I loved her. Holy ravioli, Gertrude was a riot.
  • Gertrude’s little fly Guide, Larry, was my favorite, though. I want a Larry in my life.
  • I loved that swear words were replaced with rhyming alternatives, all of which were amusing. “Get your SASS out the door.” “FLUFF you.” “Shut the HUG up.”
  • All the puns in general were great. Best one concerning some zombie satyrs: “Faun of the Dead.” I got a good laugh out of that one.
  • The illustrations could be charming one moment and absolutely horrifying and gross the next. I loved it!
  • That being said, this book is beautiful. The artwork is amazing! It’s definitely cartoony, especially with the candy-like colors, though the over-the-top violence and barely-disguised swearing makes it a graphic novel for teens on up.
  • The colors were amazing. Vibrant and perfect for every scene. Applause to Jean-Francois Beaulieu, because coloring such a complicated story seems like an incredible feat.
  • I didn’t foresee that ending! (Though it totally was evilly awesome.) WHAT an ending! Gimme volume 2 NOW. I needs.

I highly recommend I Hate Fairyland if you like absolutely nuts, off-the-wall, and over-the-top humor. This book is violent and graphic but it’s absolutely hilarious. Never have I been so entertained at a little girl trying to leave Fairyland for twenty-seven years, failing spectacularly, and taking out her rage on the various fantasy inhabitants. This book is terrific! ♦

5 hearts


Have you read I Hate Fairyland, Vol. 1?
If you haven’t, would you be interested to?
What’s a wacky fairy tale-inspired book you’ve read and loved?
Comment below letting me know!
And, as always, happy reading!

Mallory signature

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

Got something to say? SPILL!

