Monthly Wrap-Ups

Reading Wrap-Up: March 2016 [#19]

Another month gone… Wow, time flies… In March 2016, I managed to read a whopping total of 5 books. Not a great reading month, but I’ve been feeling stressed and watching a lot of TV lately, so… that’s why. Anyway, let’s take a look at the books, shall we? Here they are, organized by rating. Click on a title to read my review.


What I read in March 2016:

4 stars

25545128 21793182 25597230 27405474

Firelight by Kazu Kibuishi // Starflight by Melissa Landers // Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom // Paper Hearts, Volume 1: Some Writing Advice by Beth Revis

2 stars

1195044

Swordbird by Nancy Yi Fan


So I started off the month with book 7 in the Amulet graphic novel series, Firelight. I think the series is wandering around and losing a bit of its steam, but there were some incredibly striking scenes and, of course, the artwork is visually stunning. I love graphic novels because they’re usually gorgeous to look at and they’re quick reads.

After that, I read Melissa Landers’ Starflight, the first book in her new space duology, and my favorite book of the month. I got some Firefly vibes from this book, so if you’re a Firefly fan, you’ll probably like this book. It was funny, fast-paced, action-packed, and overall incredibly enjoyable. I am a little disappointed, though, that the sequel is more of a companion book than a true sequel, as it’ll be told from the POVs of different characters.

Then I read Not If I See You First, a contemporary story about a blind girl who runs track. It was very engaging, I liked how blunt the main character was, and I appreciated how Eric Lindstrom tackled the subject of blindness by making it a fact instead of the point.

Nonfiction came next, in the shape of Beth Revis’s writing advice book, Paper Hearts, Vol. 1. It was cool to learn about Beth’s writing journey. She’s a bit wordy, and doesn’t really introduce anything new to the writing advice pool, but it’s a valuable source for novice writers aiming for the YA market.

And the last book I read in March was a reread, because I needed a short book I knew I could fly through. Swordbird by Nancy Yi Fan isn’t that good of a book, and she was twelve when she got it published back in 2007. Past Mallory, who wanted to be a published author, too, picked it up to figure out what Nancy did right, and I have since read the book multiple times trying to understand what made Swordbird stand out from the slush pile. Read my review for my complete thoughts because I don’t want to get rambly on you in this wrap-up post. 😉


What was your favorite book you read in March?
Have you read any of these books?
If not, do any of them pique your interest?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

6 thoughts on “Reading Wrap-Up: March 2016 [#19]

  1. I’ve been meaning to read Starflight because I’ve heard so many wonderful things about it! So glad that you enjoyed it — I didn’t realize that the sequel was a companion piece. It will be interesting to see how she writes it.

    Hope April is a wonderful reading month for you!

    Like

  2. I’ve only read the first Amulet book. I do really love graphic novels though. It’s nice to see how the illustrations work with the story. I read Not If I See You First back in December and liked it too. I thought the author did a great job with the MC’s blindness, but also writing in the point of view of a girl.

    -lauren
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. If you’re interested, I’d recommend continuing with the Amulet series. They’re quick reads and the artwork is stunning, despite how the story meanders around at times. I was also impressed by Eric Lindstrom’s strong writing of Not If I See You First. You’re right, he totally nailed writing the POV of a teenage girl! 🙂

      Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

