Book Reviews

Mini-Review — Amulet: Firelight by Kazu Kibuishi

25545128

Firelight by Kazu Kibuishi. Amulet, #1.

My copy: GRAPHIX (Scholastic), March 2016. Paperback, 199 pages.

Source: Library.

add-to-goodreads-button

Read my reviews of The Stonekeeper, book 1, The Stonekeeper’s Curse, book 2, The Cloud Searchers, book 3, The Last Council, book 4, Prince of the Elves, book 5, and Escape from Lucien, book 6.

Synopsis:

Emily, Trellis, and Vigo visit Algos Island, where they can access and enter lost memories. They’re hoping to uncover the events of Trellis’s mysterious childhood — knowledge they can use against the Elf King. What they discover is a dark secret that changes everything. Meanwhile, the voice of Emily’s Amulet is getting stronger, and threatens to overtake her completely.


+ Artwork is A+++. As usual. Also, I only just found out that Kazu Kibuishi illustrated the new Harry Potter paperback covers. How did I miss that bit of information?!

+ There was one plot twist (kind of?) that had my mouth hanging open. Being able to actually visually see the book’s scene was incredible (as opposed to reading it in novel form, for example), and it just blew me away.

+ As I’ve mentioned before in my Amulet reviews, the story itself is all over the place. I feel like the series is running out of steam. The underwater memory-place arc felt a bit out of the blue, though it was cool. And it looks like in the next book some of the characters are going to outer space. Okay…? I’ll keep reading, but the story is just getting so large it’s almost ridiculous.

+ Since a bunch of our characters are split up, it’s harder to connect to them all. Emily is still very much the protagonist, but Navin is barely in this book, and a bunch of the more important and likable supporting characters didn’t really impress me here, sad to say.

+ Besides my few hang-ups, I did really enjoy Firelight. I ate it up in two sittings. I’m just not as engaged in the books as I was in the very beginning. Still, the Amulet series is very fun and has some very touching moments, so I would recommend checking it out. ♦


Have you read Firelight?
If you haven’t, would you be interested to?
What was the last graphic novel you read?
Comment below letting me know!
And, as always, happy reading!

Mallory signature

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

Got something to say? SPILL!

