Book Reviews

Review — The Siren by Kiera Cass

25817407

The Siren by Kiera Cass.

My copy: HarperTeen (Harper Collins Publishers), January 2016. Hardcover, 327 pages.

Source: Library.

add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis:

From Kiera Cass, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Selection series, comes a sweeping stand-alone fantasy romance.

A girl with a secret.
The boy of her dreams.
An Ocean between them.

Years ago, Kahlen was rescued from drowning by the Ocean. To repay her debt, she has served as a Siren ever since, using her voice to lure countless strangers to their deaths. Though a single word from Kahlen can kill, she can’t resist spending her days on land, watching ordinary people and longing for the day when she will be able to speak and laugh and live freely among them again.

Kahlen is resigned to finishing her sentence in solitude…until she meets Akinli. Handsome, caring, and kind, Akinli is everything Kahlen ever dreamed of.

Falling in love with a human breaks the Ocean’s rules. But for the first time in a lifetime of following the rules, Kahlen is determined to follow her heart.


Thoughts on The Siren:

Apparently Kahlen is pronounced like Kaylin, with a long A sound. Only I read the book pronouncing it like how it’s spelled, with the short A sound. I dislike strange, cutesy spellings — no offense if you like them or your name is a unique spelling of a more common name. But a Kahlen and an Akinli? Kiera Cass is not my favorite author when it comes to original character names, let’s just say.

The Ocean was my favorite character. She was strange and creepy, both loving and cruel, and was definitely the most original and creative part of the book.

The Sirens themselves were disappointing. I’m not sure what I was exactly expecting the Sirens to be like, but it wasn’t this: bland, cliche teenage girls. (I need to remind myself this is Kiera Cass we’re talking about, who writes books that include lots of beautiful gowns and romantic kisses and mopey/indecisive characters.)

The mythology was… lacking. There were only a few brief mentions of siren mythology, most of which was the generic stuff most of us know already. The Ocean was a great character, though not very well explained. Why couldn’t the Sirens have had their own rich, interesting history? I really didn’t feel attached to any of them, as much as the story tried to get us to like Aisling, Padma, Miaka, Elizabeth, and, of course, Kahlen.

This book isn’t very deep. (Sorry for the pun.) It’s cute but very superficial, much like The Selection books are. Yet it was enjoyable, though definitely far-fetched in many instances. Throw logic out the window and you get this tale about a Siren who falls in love with a human boy, but they can’t be together… You get the idea. Throw even the knowledge that logic exists when the “illness” plot point comes around. I really rolled my eyes at that, but I totally saw it coming a mile away.

The insta-love is real, guys. And their relationship revolves around cake for the most part. It was cute the first two times but but tiring after that.

In the end, The Siren was a quick, entertaining-enough read. It’s not as frustrating as those Selection books are, thank goodness, but Kahlen moped around hating herself and her life way too much for my liking, and the story felt like it was only brushing the top of what could have been a very strong, rich story. ♦


Have you read The Siren?
If you haven’t, would you be interested to?
What’s a book that sadly only touched the surface of the great story it could have been?
Comment below letting me know!
And, as always, happy reading!

Mallory signature

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

2 thoughts on “Review — The Siren by Kiera Cass

  1. I really don’t think I will end up reading this book … I didn’t particularly enjoy The Selection OR The Elite, so I probably wouldn’t much enjoy this one, either. It’s such a shame that the siren aspect wasn’t fully developed. They are such an interesting mythological creature that could be written in the most eerie and creepy and mysterious of ways, and yet I haven’t really found a YA book that writes them like that. I mean they love to KILL MEN. I highly doubt they’d fall in love with one. And even if they did, they would be warring with that part of themselves that wanted to KILL HIM.

    Kahlen sounds pretty annoying, which I am not at all surprised about, when I consider how annoying America was.

    It’s a shame this one didn’t live up to its potential. Hopefully we get an awesome siren book soon!

    Like

    1. Yeah, if you didn’t like the Selection books, this definitely isn’t for you. I’ve read the Selection books (all 4 of them… meep) and while they’re not good and I had so much RAGE while reading them, I did eat them up like a cheap chocolate bar. I liked The Siren more, actually, but it was still completely eye-roll worthy. And yes, very disappointing that the sirens weren’t awesome.

      Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

