Book Reviews

(Reread) Review — Warriors: Rising Storm by Erin Hunter

295086

Rising Storm by Erin Hunter. Warriors, #1.

My copy: Avon Books (Harper Collins Publisers), February 2005. Paperback, 315 pages.

Source: Own.

add-to-goodreads-button

Read my reviews of Into the Wild (#1), Fire and Ice (#2), and Forest of Secrets (#3) here.

Synopsis:

Fireheart’s traitorous enemy Tigerclaw has been vanquished and exiled from Thunder Clan — but Fireheart can’t shake the feeling that he’s lurking in the forest, waiting for his chance to strike.

That’s not the only problem facing the young warrior in these blazing summer months, as he struggles to handle sinister omens, an apprentice with a shocking secret, and a devastated Clan leader who is a shell of her former self.

Meanwhile the forest gets hotter and hotter … and everyone braces for the coming storm…

So I’m gradually making my way through rereading all the Warriors books. Rising Storm is book 4 of the original arc, and it’s definitely not as exciting as the previous three, what with Tigerclaw’s evil scheming and Tigerclaw himself not being very present in this book. Still, Rising Storm was a quick and entertaining read, despite focusing too much on Cloudpaw’s bratty behavior and Bluestar’s worsening condition.

In this book, the overlying threat to the Clans is a sickness that has swept ShadowClan. Fireheart, ThunderClan’s deputy, and Cinderpelt, the medicine cat apprentice, are the only cats who know of the sick ShadowClan cats who are recovering in ThunderClan territory. Honestly, I would have preferred the illness to be a bigger plot point, perhaps even spreading to the other Clans in a few cats here and there. This plot point felt almost sidelined was disappointing.

Then there’s Fireheart’s apprentice Cloudpaw… In future books, I love Cloudpaw, when he finally becomes a warrior. But his apprentice days are certainly rough. Cloudpaw is the epitome of a lazy, rude teenage boy, and he drove both me and Fireheart crazy. I had very little sympathy for Cloudpaw when karma hit him, especially since almost the whole book revolved around his bad behavior. I understand how hard it was for Fireheart, as Cloudpaw, being his nephew and his apprentice, was a reflection of him, but I really wanted the book to move along in terms of Clan politics and overall plot. I wasn’t in the mood for a misbehaving apprentice.

And third, Bluestar. Wowzers, Bluestar is a completely different person — er, cat. She’s a shell of herself, completely traumatized by the betrayal of Tigerclaw. She’s barely a leader, she’s making Fireheart make most of the decisions. She’s bitter, she’s angry. She’s not the Bluestar I loved back in the early books. It’s painful to see her in such a bad state, and obviously very painful for Fireheart and the other cats closest to her.

A few things I did really like about Rising Storm were the developing relationship between Fireheart and Sandstorm, Ravenpaw’s cameo, and everything to do with Yellowfang and Cinderpelt, because medicine cats are awesome, and often the wisest and most patient cats in every Clan. There are sad moments, as undoubtedly we lose a few cats through the story, and one death in particular really hit me hard.

Rising Storm is one of the weaker books in the Warriors original arc, but it was still an enjoyable, quick read. It’s a book that forces Fireheart to take on more leadership duties, which will be very important in the immediate story’s future. This book isn’t nearly as political as the previous three, and actually not as dark in that regard, but I would say it’s a good book for character development. Onto book five, A Dangerous Path! ♦


Have you read Rising Storm?
If you haven’t, would you be interested to?
What’s a book you’ve recently read that focuses more on character development than plot?
Comment below letting me know!
And, as always, happy reading!

Mallory signature

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

4 thoughts on “(Reread) Review — Warriors: Rising Storm by Erin Hunter

  1. Is this a series about CATS? OMG OMG OMG. I need this series in my life. IT’S ABOUT CATS. And it sounds AWESOME, and the NAMES, OMG. Seriously, I have needed something like this in my life for so longgggg. And now I am going to try and find the first book in the overall series.

    I’ll keep your thoughts on this one in mind, though, if I get to it. I’m not a big fan of bratty characters, but I think, from what you’ve said of that kitty later on, he has some HUGE character growth ahead of him!

    Like

    1. The names have been a turn-off for lots of readers because they change depending on a cat’s rank in the Clan — which I think is awesome, but I guess some people can’t handle? (That’s why there is a character list in the front of every book!) So glad you are digging the names. Gonna be honest and say when I was a kid, for fun I’d make up my own cat names and Clan members, haha. Just to let you know, this is a middle grade series. I love the politics and relationships, but the writing is pretty simple, and sometimes the characters can seem pretty 2D. I still love this series though, because CATS. And cats are awesome. 😀

      Like

  2. I have to admit, I remember very little about these books; I read at least some of them when I was a kid, but not much stuck with me, I’m afraid. That said, your analysis of the plot, characters, and their motivations made for an interesting post, and I’m glad you’re enjoying your reread of the series! I feel like sometimes it can go either way when you’re rereading old childhood favorites–sometimes you get even more from it when you’re older, and other times you wonder where the magic went. I’m so glad it sounds more like the former with you and this series!

    Like

    1. Definitely agree about revisiting childhood faves. For the most part I continue to like/love the books I read as a kid when I reread them, but there have been a couple that didn’t live up to my memory of them, and that was quite sad. But I’m enjoying rereading the Warriors series. It’s been years since I read these books so I’ve forgotten a lot of stuff. It’s also nice to finally appreciate the Clan politics and revisit the humble beginnings of the characters!

      Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

