Top Ten Tuesday

My 2016 Reading and Blogging Resolutions | Top Ten Tuesday [#19]

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.


Reading Resolutions:

Read 100+ books. This is my Goodreads challenge, and the only reading challenge I am participating in this year. in 2015 I read 165 books. I’m sure I’ll surpass 100 books this year, since I read over 100 books a year usually, but 100 is a lovely, round number to start out with, right? Also — this is the only “numbers based” reading resolution I’m setting myself this year. Because who needs all that added pressure?

Focus on getting that TBR pile down! Doesn’t everyone say this every year? 😉

Reach 100% on NetGalley before requesting any new books. This should be easy; I only have five more egalleys to read and review because I stopped requesting books back in the fall. Because NetGalley is a TRAP. Also, my goal is to never drop below 80% on NetGalley ever again because I am a perfectionist like that.

Read more historical fiction. Of all the types of books out there to read, this is the genre I want to immerse myself in most. I used to read so much historical fiction, and I want to get back to it. I’ll hopefully accomplish this goal by cutting down on the amount contemporary I read. Last year I read some amazing contemporary books, but contemporary isn’t a favorite genre of mine at all, and I won’t feel sad if I don’t read much of it this year.

Read more award-winners and shortlisted books. Because I am woefully behind on what other people think are the cream of the crop.

Read more Adult novels. I’m going to pair this goal with the reading more award-winners and shortlisted books goal. Because even though I love YA and will forever read it, it’s time to branch out even further than I did last year into Adult fiction.

Read more classics. Because they’re good for me.

Read more diverse books! Because they’re important. (Diverse meaning, for example: LGBTQ+, main characters who aren’t white, main characters with mental illness or disabilities, books set in different countries or based on different cultures, etc.)

Read what I want to read. In the end, it all comes down to reading what I want to read. I’ll still of course be reading new releases and the review copies I absolutely must get to, but I want to feel less pressured to read ALL THE THINGS. I want to marathon the entire Warriors series (all of them), I want to reread books, I want to read some 2015 releases I missed, I want to read lots of graphic novels, I want to marathon some manga… Basically, I’m going to worry less about what I “should” read and focus more on reading what I personally want to read.


Blogging/Bookish Resolutions:

Blog at least 3 times a week, but no more than 6 times a week. I’m taking Saturdays off from the blog always (unless it’s the last day of the month, in which I’ll schedule my monthly reading wrap-up) as a way to rest and recharge. 🙂

Reformat two old blog reviews once a week. Because the formatting on some of those reviews is wonky, and this was a project I started sometime last year and abandoned because it was so time-consuming. So if I just reformat two a week, I’ll be able to get through most, if not all, the old reviews by the end of the year. Hopefully.

Post to Instagram at least twice a week. But hopefully every couple days, because I really love Bookstagram and want to keep up with it.

Visit NetGalley only once a month. I’m really good at this now, I barely visit it because I know the trap that is “Find Titles”… And, of course — when I do decide to browse titles to request, I’m going to try to limit myself to only the books that I really really REALLY want to read.

Read the Shelf Awareness newsletter only once a week and stop requesting so many ARCs. I love Shelf Awareness, but I can’t resist entering the giveaways for all the ARCs. I get sent so many ARCs that I can’t keep up. I think I’ll limit myself to the few books I really really REALLY want to read, which are mainly books by authors I’ve read previously and liked, and the middle grade and YA titles, which I hardly EVER win. Gah.

Find and visit more blogs to make more bookish friends! I’ve been terrible at reaching out in the blogging community lately. I have a group of bloggers I’m friends with, but I haven’t made much effort to find new blogs and meet new readers, and I really want to remedy that! If you’ve got a blog you want me to check out, leave a link in the comments so I can come say hello! 😀


Personal/Life Resolutions:

Participate in (and win!) NaNoWriMo in November, as well as Camp NaNoWriMo in April and July. Because I love writing and want to write more this year.

Finish the Italian section on Duolingo. Because I’ve been at it on and off for a few years now. I’m currently about a third of the way through, though progress has obviously slowed down due to all the reviewing one has to do.

Learn to read and write Hangul, the Korean alphabet. And start learning how to speak Korean, too. Because I discovered the amazing things that are Korean dramas and K-pop last fall and I think it’d be cool to stretch my brain to learn an Asian language. (One could say — such as my mother — that I should study Mandarin because I’m Chinese, after all. But Hangul is easy enough to learn because it’s an alphabet, while Mandarin (and Cantonese) has a character for every word or phrase, so it’s way more complicated. I’ll study Mandarin eventually, maybe after I learn Hangul, because Mandarin will, in the scope of things, be way more valuable to know.)

Relearn cursive. You know, actual traditional, pretty cursive I learned once upon a time and promptly forgot because no one uses it anymore. But beautiful handwriting is a lost art form. And I want my thank you cards and birthday cards and Christmas cards to look damn fine!

And more personal goals I’m not 100% ready to share with the wider world. Because, you know, they’re very personal, and I’m afraid of failure when it comes to life changes and big decisions. I’m 19, my last year of being a teenager, and I need to get my butt in gear when it comes to certain things. Maybe I’ll tell you what those are sometime. 🙂


What are some resolutions you’ve made for 2016?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

15 thoughts on “My 2016 Reading and Blogging Resolutions | Top Ten Tuesday [#19]

  1. Woah! Those are a lot to accomplish but I know you can pull them off! 😀
    I resolved to read more classics too, without falling asleep! 😀
    And I once tried French in Duolingo!
    Have a great year, Mallory!

    Like

  2. Everyone’s trying to read more classics/adult books and I’m just here like…nah. Lol. I’m not a big fan of going out of my comfort zone! But yay for learning a new language! I’m doing French on Duolingo and my new party trick when I’ve had a few drinks is to start speaking it (apparently). Fun times. Good luck with your goals ❤ ❤

    Like

    1. “Nah…” LOL. I don’t really love classics, but I’ve missed out on a bunch of the staples most people read in school. I read some classics last year and didn’t really enjoy them (A Room with a View, The War of the Worlds, The Time Machine — and even A Study in Scarlet!), but I’m willing to get out of my comfort zone some more. 😉

      Like

  3. Oh, adult books how you allude me so. I honestly believe that the only adult books I have read have been due to school issued assignments. How terrible is that? lol Though I have been thinking about reading Emma and The Phantom of the Opera, which are both collecting dust on my bookshelf right now. Hmm, maybe I’ll add that to my resolutions. Btw, I love that you’re going to attempt Camp NaNoWriMo too! I haven’t done it before though, have you? Anyhow, sorry for my long windedness and good luck in your resolutions!

    Like

    1. Oooh, Emma and The Phantom of the Opera — I’d like to read those at some point. Phantom especially because the musical is one of my favorites. 🙂 I tried Camp NaNo once a few years ago, but not very seriously… Like, I signed up and wrote and that was that, I didn’t really participate in anything beyond that. LOL. I basically just look at Camp NaNo as another NaNoWriMo, but one that isn’t quite as hardcore.

      Like

  4. I have plans to read more adult and classic books too! In fact, my exact resolution is to read one classic and one adult book each per month. I tried this last year with just classics, AND IT TOTALLY FAILED. But I am determined to see it through this year! Good luck to the both of us 😉

    Like

  5. Best of luck for all your resolutions! I am also going to try and branch out and read more classic and diverse books this year 🙂 I also hope to finally conquer the Netgalley TBR pile, but the temptation to request away is always so great cries

    Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

