Lists & Such

Series I’ve decided to drop/quit/abandon (because who has time to finish every single series they’ve started anyway?)

So it’s a new year. It’s time to revamp my reading life — and my TBR pile, mainly. There are a ton of series I’ve started and am currently invested in. Only problem is that I don’t have time to finish them all. There are many series I’m more excited about than others, and so I decided to clean out my Goodreads shelves and diminish by massive TBR pile by a little bit. This post is coming to you in three parts: Part 1 – series I long ago decided weren’t worth finishing because I mainly disliked the first books in their respective series. Part 2 – series I’ve decided to drop now that I am organizing my reading life because it’s 2016. And Part 3 – series I’m on the fence about continuing or not (this will probably be the section you find most interesting/controversial, ha!).


Part 1

These are the first books in series I long ago decided I wasn’t going to continue with. I didn’t like most of these books, and hated a few of them. I also DNF-ed Becoming Jinn and Hunter so I’m absolutely not going to try those books or series again.

   

  • The Tangled Webs series by Lee Bross. Gah, I almost DNF-ed this. THE INSTA-LOVE IS REAL, Y’ALL.
  • The Silver in the Blood series by Jessica Day George. I also almost DNF-ed this. The plot didn’t kick in until halfway through the book, and it overall very disappointing.
  • The Becoming Jinn series by Lori Goldstein. I DNF-ed this. I just couldn’t stand the characters and the slow pace. From reading others’ reviews, I learned that I actually quit right before the love triangle kicked in, ha! Whew, I’m actually relieved I avoided that bullet.
  • The Half Bad Trilogy by Sally Green. I know readers and bloggers who love this series and I’m friends with some of them, but I have to say that I was on the opposite side of the spectrum in terms of enjoying Half Bad. I hated it. I kind of wish I’d DNF-ed it way back when I read it in 2014.
  • The Prey series by Tom Isbell. Meh. Dystopia is so overdone now, and this one wasn’t even that interesting. I mean, the concept was cool but nothing related to that concept of our heroes being “prey” happened.
  • The Hunter series by Mercedes Lackey. I also DNF-ed this pretty early on. It was so damn confusing and — THE INFO-DUMPING AND EXPOSITION IS REAL, Y’ALL.
  • The Unborn series by Amber Lynn Natusch. I’ve read much better urban fantasy/paranormal novels. This one really didn’t impress me. Plus the writing was over-saturated with what felt like the biggest words the author could come up with.
  • The Dragon King Chronicles by Ellen Oh. This is a high fantasy series set in a world based on ancient Korea. Dragons are supposed to be important. I thought I’d love this series, I got the entire trilogy out from my library at once. But Prophecy was a total mess and I was sorely disappointed.
  • All the Wrong Questions by Lemony Snicket. Who Could That Be at This Hour? was clever, but Lemony Snicket’s best was A Series of Unfortunate Events, and I’m just not the target audience for his new books anymore.
  • The Between series by April Genevieve Tucholke. Okay, Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea I both liked and disliked. The cliffhanger is awesome and had me dying to find out what happens next, but the book as a whole really wasn’t my thing.

Part 2

As of writing this post and cleaning out by Goodreads TBR, these are the series I’ve decided to drop. While I did enjoy some of these books, none of them were stellar and I don’t have a huge urge to keep going with the series.

   

  • The Murder Complex series by Lindsay Cummings. The Murder Complex was interesting but pretty bumpy, and I’m just probably never going to get to The Death Code.
  • The Seeker series by Arwen Elys Dayton. So many readers DNF-ed Seeker and I’m not alone in knowing it has tons of flaws. I didn’t hate it as much as others did, but it still wasn’t very good. I’m not that interested in reading Traveler.
  • The Lone City series by Amy Ewing. I had huge problems with The Jewel and I’ve seen some negative reviews for The White Rose. Although I’m actually somewhat interested in The White Rose, I think I’ll pass because of what other reviewers have told me. (Also — THE INSTA-LOVE IS REAL, Y’ALL in The Jewel.)
  • The Proxy series by Alex London. Proxy started off a mess but got better as it went along, though it really wasn’t my thing. I’m going to pass on Guardian.

Part 3

These are series I’m on the fence about finishing or not… Sound off in the comments about them so I can judge a bit better which ones I should stick with and which ones I should abandon.

   

  • The Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard. Red Queen was entertaining but not very original. I felt like I’d read the same book before so many times. I’m not sure if I’ll feel in the mood to read Glass Sword.
  • The Fairy-Tale Matchmaker series by E.D. Baker. I adored The Fairy-Tale Matchmaker, but this is a cutsie middle grade series and I don’t read middle grade as much anymore.
  • The Tuesday McGillycuddy series by Angelica Banks. Again, I adored the first book, Finding Serendipity, but it’s a middle grade series and I’m just not the target audience. I’ll gladly read middle grade novels, but I don’t think I can really commit to middle grade series unless they’re really special.
  • The Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown. Red Rising was okay, but it didn’t blow me away — it didn’t live up to all the hype. I’m not sure if I have the interest to finish the series with Golden Son and Morning Star.
  • The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I was really disappointed with Illuminae so I’m not sure if I’m going to read the next book, Gemima. I wanted to love Illuminae but I couldn’t connect to any of the characters and it was so difficult to read my egalley because of technicalities, therefore making it harder to figure out what was happening with the plot.
  • The Last Dragon Charmer series by Laurie McKay. Again with the middle grade series. I loved the first book, Villain Keeper, but I just don’t think I have the interest to commit to middle grade series anymore.
  • The Cage series by Megan Shepherd. I liked The Cage to an extent, despite it being pretty dark, but I’m not sure it’s really a story or world I’d like to go back to.
  • The Generations Trilogy by Scott Sigler. Alive was weird. Interesting, but just weird (those random pigs! I’m still laughing even though it’s not funny). I’m not sure if I want to read another book with ten times more questions than answers.
  • The Geek Girl series by Holly Smale. Geek Girl was really cute and fluffy, but it’s YA chick-lit and that’s totally not the sort of genre I’m interested in.
  • The An Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir. An Ember in the Ashes really disappointed me. There was so much hype and I seem to be an outlier in that I didn’t like it. I hated the violence and rape culture and while the characters were interesting enough, the world is just way too violent and dark — and I’m someone who loves dark fantasies. I’m not sure yet if I’ll be reading A Torch Against the Night.
  • The A Wicked Thing series by Rhiannon Thomas. A Wicked Thing failed to captivate me as a Sleeping Beauty retelling — after Aurora wakes up. It was kind of unmemorable and predictable so I’m not sure I feel like continuing with Kingdom of Ashes.
  • The Taking series by Melissa West. I really enjoyed Gravity, but my library doesn’t have the other two books, Hover and Collide, and this isn’t an exceptional aliens/sci-fi series (I’ve read many that are better) so I might pass on finishing this one.

So those are all the series I’m abandoning or am thinking of quitting… What do you guys think? Any series I should reconsider? And what are some series you’ve dropped yourself, or ones you’re thinking of dropping? Comment below letting me know!


Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

6 thoughts on “Series I’ve decided to drop/quit/abandon (because who has time to finish every single series they’ve started anyway?)

  1. I am 100% in favor of not finishing books that don’t make you happy! I know some people are so against doing that, but you only so much to read! No use spending it on books that you don’t enjoy.

    You’re the first person I’ve seen who hasn’t enjoyed An Ember in the Ashes! It’s on my TBR list this year, so I am interested to hear your thoughts on it!

    Like

  2. You shouldn’t feel pressured to finish books that you don’t like, they just make your TBR-list harder to get through. I do believe though that it would be nice to read just a little bit of the books you are unsure about, just so that you can say that you have given them a chance. Great books can hide in many unexpected places.
    Another thing is that I just nominatedd you for the Liebster Award. I don’t know if you’ve already been nominated (my Internet connection is too slow to check), then just ignore me. It’s just that I have no idea how to tag you properly and that’s why I told here. This my post if you’re interested: https://readingexperienceswithnora.wordpress.com/2016/01/04/the-liebster-award/

    Like

  3. I agree with Maria above — if you’re not enjoying something, then what’s the point of reading it, right!? (And there are just SO many amazing books out there we don’t have the time to read ones we’re not really into.) But, in saying that, sometimes I’ve abandoned a book, given it a year or so, then come back to it — only to find myself absolutely in love with it. (Actually, that’s what happened with THE BONE SEASON.) So sometimes, second chances CAN be worth it 😉 Interesting to see that you didn’t enjoy ILLUMINAE, though. Basically every other review I’ve come across has been positive.

    Like

    1. EXACTLY. But yes, there can be some good books one misses out on if not given another chance… I’ll think carefully about the book series I’ll drop and the ones I’ll try again. And yup — I’m one of the few people who didn’t really like Illuminae. Or An Ember in the Ashes, as Maria pointed out. 😛

      Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

