Monthly Wrap-Ups · The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post — January 3rd, 2016 [#43] | Monthly Wrap-Up Edition: December 2015 [#16]

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


Last week on the blog:


What I read last month:

Well, this is embarrassing… I read nothing in December 2015. Zip. Zilch. Nada. I think I needed to take the month to recharge after reading 165 books in the year. The holidays also helped with me being lazy. But I’m feeling rejuvenated now and I’m expecting January to be an awesome reading month! (I’ve already read two books!)


Currently reading:

 


The library haul:

Here’s what I picked up from the library this week.

     

  • Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin. [Goodreads] I actually might be the most excited to read this book out of all the books I picked up from the library this week. It’s an alternate historical fiction novel with the premise that Hitler won World War II.
  • Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy. [Goodreads] It’s gotten good reviews and I like seeing female empowerment — especially in a situation I view as very demeaning to women (pageants).
  • These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly. [Goodreads] Murder mystery in historical New York City. I’m in!
  • The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater. [Goodreads] This is the year to finish The Raven Cycle, what with The Raven King coming out in April.
  • Saga, Volume 5 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples. [Goodreads] I can’t wait to jump back into the Saga universe! Gah, I love me some good graphic novels.
  • Maid-sama! Volumes 1 & 2 by Hiro Fujiwara. [Goodreads] I watched the anime a long time ago and thought it was hilarious, so when I saw this on the shelf I said, Hey, why not? It’s going to be pretty funny!

In other news…

Happy New Year!!! 2016 is going to be awesome, I can feel it. 😀

In terms of blogging and reading this year, I’ve already said that I’m not participating in any challenges except the Goodreads reading challenge, which I’ve set at 100 books. This year I want to focus on what I want to read. I’m madly debating doing this week’s Top Ten Tuesday about 2016 blogging/reading resolutions and I think I might. Though, already I can tell you that I’m going to worry less about putting out a blog post almost every day, I’m going to read more “back list” books in addition to new releases, I’m going to request fewer books and enter fewer giveaways, and I’m going to try to read more classics, historical fiction, adult novels, and award-winning books this year.

Also, this will be the final Sunday Post in the monthly wrap-up format. I’ll be going back to writing an individual post about the books I read every month. Time to change things up (slightly) in this New Year!

And finally… I saw Star Wars: The Force Awakens! And LOVED it! ❤ I cried, I laughed, I sat in my seat in awe with my mouth hanging open at times. I want to go back and see it again so badly. Gah. It was amazing. I can’t wait until 2017 for Episode VIII! WAAAAH! (Any other Star Wars fans out there? Can we fangirl/fanboy together?)


What are you currently reading?
What was your favorite book you read in December?
And what are you looking forward to in 2016?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Post — January 3rd, 2016 [#43] | Monthly Wrap-Up Edition: December 2015 [#16]

  1. I’ve signed up for challenges, but I’ve promised myself I won’t take them too seriously. We need to read what we want to read! I’ve seen Star Wars, and I’m in love with it too!! I don’t know if I can properly fangirl though – I haven’t seen any of the other movies in the series

    Like

  2. The Force Awakens was my first Star Wars movie and I really liked it too! I brought my friend who had seen them all to clue me in which was really helpful. Awesome library haul, I want to read all of those! I hear Maid Sama is hilarious, I should check it out soon. Happy New Year 🙂

    Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

