Top Ten Tuesday

All the 2016 releases I need in my hands ASAP | Top Ten Tuesday [#18]

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.


I’m focusing on books being released in the first half of the year (but there are a couple later releases I’m mentioning), and I’m breaking this post up into two sections: sequels/endings to series I’m invested in, and then books that are either first in their new respective series or standalones. Let’s jump right in, shall we? Books are listed in no particular order.


Top Ten (*cough* eleven) Sequels I Need ASAP:

          

  1. The Crown by Keira Cass. [Goodreads] Releases May 3rd, 2016 from HarperTeen. (Read my review of book #4, The Heir.) I don’t love the Selection books because they’re darn frustrating, but they’re also addicting, so I know I’m going to eat up The Heir.
  2. Lady Renegades by Rachel Hawkins. [Goodreads] Releases April 12th 2016 from G.P. Putnam’s Sons BFYR. (Read my reviews of book #1, Rebel Belle, and book #2, Miss Mayhem.) Hopefully Lady Renegades will be a good conclusion to the Rebel Belle trilogy because Miss Mayhem was pretty weak.
  3. Let the Wind Rise by Shannon Messenger. [Goodreads] Releases April 26th 2016 from Simon Pulse. (Read my reviews of book #1, Let the Sky Fall, and book #2, Let the Storm Break.) I am super excited for Let the Wind Rise because I love Shannon Messenger’s serious underrated Let the Sky Fall books — you should seriously check them out, they’re whimsical, fun books.
  4. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. [Goodreads] Releases April 26th, 2016 from Scholastic Press. (Read my review of book #1, The Raven Boys.) I have only read The Raven Boys, but Maggie Stiefvater is one of my favorite authors and I’m planning to marathon the last three books in the series in the spring when The Raven King comes out. Also, isn’t that a simply magnificent cover?!
  5. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. [Goodreads] Releases May 3rd, 2016 from Bloomsbury USA Children’s. (Read my review of book #1, A Court of Thorns and Roses.) I’m also pumped for A Court of Mist and Fury, which is a Hades/Persephone retelling. Please, let there be no love triangle, although I fear that’s what’s going to happen
  6. The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury. [Goodreads] Releases April 26th, 2016 from Scholastic Press. (Read my review of book #1, The Sin Eater’s Daughter.) I’m looking forward to The Sleeping Prince to see if the series gets better. The Sin Eater’s Daughter was a real disappointment despite it’s terrific premise and it’s killer epilogue.
  7. The Shadow Hour by Melissa Grey. [Goodreads] Releases July 12th, 2016 from Delacorte Press. (Read my review of book #1, The Girl at Midnight.) I’m excited for The Shadow Hour because I absolutely loved The Girl at Midnight, despite how it was predictable at times.
  8. The Map of Bones by Francesca Haig. [Goodreads] Releases May 3rd, 2016 from Gallery Books. (Read my review of book #1, The Fire Sermon.) I’m also looking forward to The Map of Bones; I enjoyed The Fire Sermon a lot.
  9. The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski. [Goodreads] Releases March 29th 2016 from Farrar Straus & Giroux. (Read my reviews of book #1, The Winner’s Curse, and book #2, The Winner’s Crime.) The Winner’s Trilogy is kind of uneven, but the second book was a lot better than the first and now I’m finally on board the ship, so I’m eager to get my hands on The Winner’s Kiss.
  10. Amulet, Vol. 7: Firelight by Kazu Kibuishi. [Goodreads] Releases February 23rd, 2016 from GRAPHIX. (Read my reviews of books #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, and #6.I have enjoyed the Amulet graphic novels so I’m glad that the next installment is coming out very soon. EDIT: Check out my review of Firelight here!
  11. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab. [Goodreads] Releases February 23rd, 2016 from Tor. (Read my review of book #1, A Darker Shade of Magic.) And then we have A Gathering of Shadows — which I hope will be an awesome sequel to the absolutely amazing and near-flawless book that A Darker Shade of Magic is.

All the Other New Releases I Need ASAP:

                    

  1. Heartless by Marissa Meyer. [Goodreads] Releases November 8th, 2016 by Feiwel and Friends. Alice in Wonderland retelling, y’all!
  2. Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman. [Goodreads] Releases February 9th, 2016 by Simon Pulse. Pirates, yaaaas!
  3. Worlds of Ink and Shadow by Lena Coakley. [Goodreads] Releases January 5th, 2016 by Amulet Books. I actually have an egalley of this that I’m planning to read very, very soon. I loved Lena’s Witchlanders — which, if you’ve been around on the blog for a long time, you’ll know is a seriously underrated book more people need to know about. EDIT: Check out my DNF review of Worlds of Ink and Shadow here.
  4. Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke. [Goodreads] Releases March 22nd, 2016 by Dial Books. The title and the cover sure are amazing.
  5. Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie. [Goodreads] Releases March 1st, 2016 by Katherine Tegen Books.
  6. Join by Steve Toutonghi. [Goodreads] Releases April 19th, 2016 by Soho Press. That cover is magnificent.
  7. Starflight by Melissa Landers. [Goodreads] Releases February 2nd, 2016 by Disney-Hyperion. More sci-fi from Melissa Landers! (She’s also coming out with the third book in the Alienated series later in the year, hopefully in August 2016!) EDIT: Check out my review of Starflight here!
  8. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. [Goodreads] Releases January 5th, 2016 by Tor Teen.
  9. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. [Goodreads] Releases January 5th, 2016 by Disney-Hyperion. Time travel, y’all. EDIT: Check out my review of Passenger here!
  10. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. [Goodreads] Releases February 2nd, 2016 by Philomel Books. I really enjoyed Between Shades of Gray and Out of the Easy, so I’m excited for Ruta’s newest historical novel.
  11. The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury. [Goodreads] Releases February 23rd, 2016 by Razorbill. Jessica Khoury writes great sci-fi thrillers in exotic locations (Origin and Vitro were excellent) so I’m curious to see how she tackles fairy tale retellings.
  12. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi. [Goodreads] Releases May 3rd, 2016 by St. Martin’s Griffin.
  13. Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee. [Goodreads] Releases May 24th, 2016 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons BFYR. I didn’t get around to reading Stacy’s debut Under a Painted Sky, but that book and her newest one are going to be a top priority in 2016!
  14. Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor. [Goodreads] Releases March 1st, 2016 by HMH Books for Young Readers.
  15. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton. [Goodreads] Releases March 8th, 2016 by Penguin.
  16. The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan. [Goodreads] Releases May 3rd, 2016 by Disney-Hyperion. This is going to be absolutely hilarious due to Apollo’s bad haiku, ha! Also, we’ll very likely see the old gang from Heroes of Olympus and Percy and Annabeth, so I’m not complaining because I can’t wait to see where our favorite characters are now. Yeah, Rick’s churning out two books a year and writing the exact same formula every time, but I don’t care. I enjoy his humor and snark and his off-the-wall characters. I’m welcoming The Trials of Apollo!
  17. The Siren by Kiera Cass. [Goodreads] Releases January 26th, 2016 by HarperTeen. Kiera’s got two books coming out this year, and both in the first half of 2016. I’m not expecting this to be great, but I’m looking forward to reading something not Selection related. EDIT: Check out my review of The Siren here!
  18. A Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry. [Goodreads] Releases April 12th 2016 by Algonquin Young Readers.
  19. Riders by Veronica Rossi. [Goodreads] Releases February 16th, 2016 by Tor Teen. I loved the Under the Never Sky trilogy, which just got better as it went along, so I’m excited for Veronica’s new series.
  20. Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan. [Goodreads] Releases January 19th, 2016 by HarperTeen.
  21. Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers. [Goodreads] Releases February 2nd, 2016 by HarperTeen.

What are your most anticipated 2016 releases?
Have I brought any books to your attention that you weren’t aware of before?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

16 thoughts on “All the 2016 releases I need in my hands ASAP | Top Ten Tuesday [#18]

  1. Worlds of Ink and Shadow was pretty good (I reviewed it for the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents). It has a feel kind of like Kenneth Oppel’s This Dark Endeavor. I didn’t realize the seventh Amulet book was about to be out. I wish I’d put it on my list (I might have to go back and do that). Great list. Happy reading!

    Like

  2. You’ve got some great choices here – and some gorgeous covers. I can hardly wait for the new Riordan series to start. I haven’t started the Raven Boys series yet, but it’s on my list to read. So is Sarah Maas’s Court of Thorns and Roses series. And I’m looking forward to seeing what Marissa Meyer does with Heartless; I loved the Lunar Chronicles. I see a few others here that I will probably check out if/when I can get my hands on a copy – especially The Forbidden Wish and possibly Passenger also.

    Like

    1. 2016 is shaping up to be an amazing year for book covers, right? I’m very excited for Rick’s new series, although it’s a bit crazy that he’s writing two mythology series at the same time. I’m thrilled, however! 🙂 I’m also anticipating what Heartless will be like — Alice in Wonderland is a story you can really change up and get creative with!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The Fire Sermon wasn’t my favorite book ever, as it did have some pacing and character problems, but I did like it — and I am in love with the series’ covers. The Map of Bones isn’t a sequel I’m scrambling to get to, but it’s one I’d like to read at some point. Glad to have jogged your memory!

      Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

