Top 5 Wednesday

My favorite retellings I read in 2015 | Top 5 Wednesday [#8]

Top 5 Wednesday is hosted by Lainey @ Ginger Reads Lainey.


This week’s topic asks us to list five of our favorite retellings. I’m changing that slightly to talk about the retellings I read this year. Here are my top five! They’re not listed in any particular order because I hate ranking books. Also, click on a title to read my review.


The Top 5 (*cough* six):

     

  1. Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge. 4 stars. Little Red Riding Hood and The Girl With No Hands. Crimson Bound is the type of book that just grows and grows on you the more you think about it and the more time goes by. I didn’t love it when I read it, but now I love it. I wrote a long Musings post about why my thoughts on it have changed, and the reasons I love it now. Will it ever reach 5 stars for me? Probably not, but Crimson Bound is an excellent and elaborate retelling of two fairy tales. Rosamund Hodge is a brilliant writer.
  2. A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston. 4 stars. One Thousand and One Nights/The Arabian Nights. The second of the One Thousand and One Nights retellings — the other was The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh, which I did enjoy, but had major problems with. The slow-burn romance was the best thing about Wrath & Dawn. A Thousand Nights, however, is an entirely different retelling, one that is much slower, quieter, more faithful, and more beautiful. A Thousand Nights wasn’t a huge hit with most readers, but I personally adored it. The writing is gorgeous and I didn’t mind the lack of character names and the seeming lack of plot. Some books don’t need to be crammed with action and romance and suspense. I much preferred A Thousand Nights over The Wrath and the Dawn, and I’m totally cool with being a black sheep in regards to it. A Thousand Nights might not appeal to as many readers, but it was definitely the right book for me.
  3. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. 5 stars. Beauty and the Beast and Tam Lin. My favorite Sarah J. Maas book to date. And one that ripped my heart out, split it in two, burned it in a fire, ate it, and vomited it back up again. Basically, I was a complete emotional wreck while reading ACOTAR and it might be my favorite retelling ever. It certainly rivals my other favorite Beauty and the Beast retelling, Beauty by Robin McKinley. ACOTAR was flipping fantastic.
  4. Fairest and Winter by Marissa Meyer. 5 stars for each book. Snow White from the villain and the heroes perspectives, respectively. Fairest isn’t the novella for everyone, as it tells the story of the evil Queen Levana. She’s despicable, but if you think about her story psychological, it’s quite sad. Having read Fairest, Winter made a lot more sense to me when understanding Levana’s character, although I still loathed her. Winter itself, though, was a fabulous series finale. It was so action-packed and romantic. The FEELS, guys, the FEELS.
  5. Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan. 4 stars. Norse mythology. Not my favorite of Rick’s mythology books, but still awesome and absolutely hilarious. Rick is so creative with how he puts myths and legends into current times, and the wacky adventures the characters go on makes for a pretty epic book. By now, the books are formula, but they’re still incredibly enjoyable. I always laugh at the humor, and I love seeing the characters grow and mature through the series.

Have you read any of the books I listed?
What’s your favorite retetelling you read this year? Or just ever?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

14 thoughts on “My favorite retellings I read in 2015 | Top 5 Wednesday [#8]

  1. I’ve read hardly any retellings, and that makes me sad! A lot of these are on my TBR, I just haven’t read them yet. One day I’m sure I’ll get addicted, but for now I don’t think I could name 5 that I’ve read in my whole life! 🙂

    Like

    1. I hope you love ACOTAR! It was one of my most anticipated books of the year and IT DELIVERED! Hurrah! Fairest was so good, right? A lot of readers didn’t like it because of it being about Levana, but I looked at it from a psychological viewpoint and thought it was fascinating. Horrifying, but amazing. Winter was sooooo gooooood! I almost didn’t want to finish it because it’s the end of the amazing saga… Sniffle. And WordPress is stupid like that sometimes. Lately I can’t even see my notifications online and have to use my phone to do so, it’s a pain in the butt. 😛

      Like

  2. gorgeous covers!! You absolutely must also read Melanie Dickerson’s retellings! The Merchant’s Daughter (Beauty & the Beast) and The Healer’s Apprentice (Sleeping Beauty) are my personal favorites.

    Like

  3. I’ve only read ACOTAR on this list! Actually that’s a lie, I’ve read Fairest too. The rest of the books are on my TBR though! I desperately need to get my hands on Crimson Bound.

    As for my favourite retellings ever, I’ve always LOVED Juliet Marillier’s Heart’s Blood (Beauty and the Beast) and The Daughter of The Forest (Six Swans).

    Like

  4. Is it terrible that I have only read one of these? YES. Ohmygosh, I am so behind on my fairytale retelling books, and it’s making me so sad! They are some of my favourites to read, but for some reason I hardly read any this year weeping

    I DID read ACOTAR, which I really enjoyed 😀 It’s not my favourite Beauty and the Beast retelling – that goes to Heart’s Blood by Juliet Marillier, but it was a very good read!

    I read the third book in the Splintered series by A.G. Howard, which is an Alice in Wonderland retelling, and I really enjoyed that one! Other than that, I cannot remember any other retellings I read this year 😦 I really need to up my game in 2016, obviously!

    Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

