Top Ten Tuesday

Favorite books by authors I read for the first time in 2015 | Top Ten Tuesday [#16]

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.


So I read a lot of books this year. I read 165 as of this post going up. That’s the most I’ve ever read in any given year, and I’m pretty pleased despite the number of reading slumps I’ve had this fall (one giant, one or two more small). Anyway, this week’s topic asks us to list our favorite new-to-us authors of the year. Let’s jump right in, shall we? Books are listed by author last name, since I can’t bear to rank them. (Plus, a few of these books will be on my Best of Year list, which will be ranked — I think — so I’d like to keep things ambiguous until then.)


The Top Ten (*cough* eleven):

          

Click on a title to read my review.

  1. Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. 5 stars. Potentially my favorite contemporary novel ever, and I’m not a contemporary fiction fan. Simon was, however, absolutely perfect. It got me in the feels so hard. Good lord, thank you Becky Albertalli for writing such a gem!
  2. Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty. 4.5 stars. An absolutely lovely and magical and mysterious middle grade novel that really impressed and surprised me.
  3. Through the Woods by Emily Carroll. 5 stars. Emily Carroll is my favorite graphic novel author and illustrator, I think. Her stories are creepy and dark, her artwork haunting and perfectly attuned to her writing. Through the Woods is a stunning masterpiece.
  4. The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey. 5 stars. I know a lot of people disliked this book, but I personally loved it. Birds and dragons at war, an adorable romance, quirky characters… The plot may have been a tad predictable, but I was totally willing to overlook the few flaws and just enjoy this awesome adventure.
  5. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab. 5 stars. Okay, this is kind of cheating because I have read Victoria Schwab’s The Archived. But if we’re being strictly technical, ADSOM was my first V.E. Schwab book. And it was absolutely mind-blowing. From chapter 1, I knew I would love it. And love it I did.
  6. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson. 5 stars. We need more books about unlikely heroes, as well as antiheroes. Or just villains in general. Nimona is an epic sci-fi/fantasy graphic novel with a really spunky heroine and some hilarious adventures.
  7. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz. 5 stars. I read this in one sitting and I’m pretty sure I cried my eyes out. Worthy of all the awards and recognition.
  8. The Vanishing Girl by Laura Thalassa. 5 stars. This was my first foray into New Adult, although I did so unsuspectingly. It’s an awesome sci-fi with a killer romance. (The sequel, The Decaying Empire, is fabulous, too.)
  9. Blue Karma by J.K. Ullrich. 4.5 stars. A terrific dystopia due to climate change. Basically, this is a cli-fi novel, and a great one by independently published author J.K. Ullrich.
  10. Saga, Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples. 5 stars. Worth all the hype. The Saga graphic novel series is one of the best and greatest out there, a huge space opera with gore, sex, drugs, and everything in the universe.
  11. My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga. 5 stars. Whoa, three contemporaries on this list! (I’m counting Aristotle and Dante as a contemporary, even though it’s set a few decades ago.) My Heart and Other Black Holes is a really sad story but has a lot of dry humor. It’s about teen suicide, and it was really well done. It really took me by surprise, seeing as how dark contemporary topics usually send me running for the hills.

Have you read any of these books?
If not, do any of them pique your interest?
What’s your favorite book by a new-to-you author you read this year?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

9 thoughts on “Favorite books by authors I read for the first time in 2015 | Top Ten Tuesday [#16]

Got something to say? SPILL!

