Monthly Wrap-Ups · The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post — December 6th, 2015 [#39] | Monthly Wrap-up Edition: November 2015 [#15]

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


Last week on the blog:

   


What I read:

Nothing. I didn’t finish a single book last week. Sigh. 😦


What I read last month:

Here are all the books I read in November 2015 (9 books!).

        

Click on a title to read my review.

  1. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. 3 stars. I’m a black sheep in that I didn’t really like this, or at least not nearly as much as most readers did. Too much hype.
  2. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. 4 stars. A reread. I enjoyed it much more this second time around.
  3. George by Alex Gino. 4 stars. This is important stuff, particularly for the middle grade audience.
  4. The Nightmare Place by Steve Mosby. 3.5-4 stars. A great dark crime thriller.
  5. Forest of Secrets by Erin Hunter. 4-4.5 stars. A reread. Warriors for life!
  6. Winter by Marissa Meyer. 5 stars. The end of the Lunar Chronicles. Gah, THE FEEEEEELS.
  7. Explorer: The Mystery Boxes edited by Kazu Kibuishi. 3 stars. Gorgeous artwork, uneven and lackluster stories.
  8. An Inheritance of Ashes by Leah Bobet. 4 stars. Slow but always fascinating. So original.
  9. Forever with You by Jennifer L. Armentrout. 3.5 stars. My least favorite of JLA’s New Adult books I’ve read.

Lightning round:

Quick thoughts on November 2015’s books.

  • Favorite? Winter!
  • Least favorite? Probably Illuminae… eep, don’t hate me!
  • Book I recommend to everyone? George! A middle grade book about a transgender girl. Holy ravioli, this was a terrific book.
  • Any rereads? Two: City of Bones and Forest of Secrets.
  • Favorite cover? An Inheritance of Ashes has an absolutely beautiful cover. The book’s great, too!
  • Any new ships/OTPs? Alec + Magnus = ❤
  • Continue/finish any series? I continued with the Warriors series and the Wait for You series, and finished The Lunar Chronicles.
  • Dragons? Sadly, no.
  • Illustrated maps? Yes! Illuminae, City of Bones, and Forest of Secrets all have maps! You guys know I LOVE maps!

Currently reading:

 

  • City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare. I notice these Mortal Instruments books have slower beginnings… The pay-off is great, but the buildup isn’t.
  • The Trouble with Destiny by Lauren Morrill. Gotta finish this ASAP and get a review up, since it’s a review copy!

Most popular reviews:

Here are the reviews you clicked on the most in November 2015.

Click on a title to read my review.

  1. The Resurrectionist by E.B. Hudspeth. I am forever baffled by why this review gets so many hits.
  2. The Nightmare Place by Steve Mosby.
  3. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. Hype hype hype.
  4. Dream a Little Dream by Kerstin Gier. Nice to see this older review get some love.
  5. Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan. Not my favorite of Rick’s books, but definitely a ton of fun.
  6. Maus I by Art Spiegelman. Interesting to see this older review get some attention.
  7. George by Alex Gino. Important stuff, y’all.
  8. Warriors: Fire and Ice by Erin Hunter. Funny that this Warriors book got more views than the review of Forest of Secrets I put up this month.
  9. Love, Volume 2: The Fox by Frederic Brremaud, illustrated by Federico Bertolucci. This is a beautiful graphic novel, I highly suggest checking it out.
  10. Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger. FINALLY. Let the Sky Fall is a seriously underrated book (and series) and I’m super glad a bunch of people found my review.

Non-review posts:

Here are all the non-review posts from November 2015.


In other news…

I’m currently working on my Studio Ghibli series, and I’m hoping to release the 3+ posts this week or next week. This fall I did a Studio Ghibli marathon and watched all 22 of their movies. Part 1 will be my countdown of Hayao Miyazaki’s 11 films, Part 2 will be my countdown of all the Studio Ghibli films, and Part 3 will be a post about my favorite characters from the movies. I’m considering also writing a Part 4 about Joe Hisaishi’s brilliant soundtracks.

It’s almost the end of the year and it’s getting time to look back at everything I’ve read and blogged. I’ll be doing the 2015 End of Year Book Survey that Jamie from The Perpetual Page-Turner hosts every year, as well as the Top Ten Tuesday and Top 5 Wednesday memes about the best books I’ve read this year. I’m hoping to get up a post about the 105 Challenge that’s hosted by Nori from ReadWriteLove28, which I failed in terms of reading books from all the categories. Stay tuned for lots of lists and countdowns this month!

Also, now that 2016 is fast approaching, I’ve been thinking about reading and blogging goals and resolutions, and I’ve decided not to participate in any reading challenges next year, apart from the Goodreads reading challenge, which I’ll set at 100 books, like usual. I prefer reading what I want to read, not what a challenge dictates. I’m always aware that I need to get through my TBR pile, finish series, expand my horizons with different genres, read more classics, etc, etc. I don’t like feeling pressured to read specific books, and since I read a ton and a wide variety anyway I don’t think it’s necessary for me to say, I’m going to read X, Y, and Z — oh and R and J and D.

So that’s what’s going on right now. I hope you’re all having a very nice holiday lead-up and that you’re not stressing too much over the fact that another year has come and gone so quickly. 🙂


What are you currently reading?
And what was your favorite book you read in November?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Post — December 6th, 2015 [#39] | Monthly Wrap-up Edition: November 2015 [#15]

  1. The Mortal Instruments series is so good! Alec and Magnus are so adorable, I can’t cope ♥ It feels so disappointing when you don’t read anything, but unfortunately life gets in the way 😦

    Like

    1. Okay, I feel a little bit better that you didn’t complete your 105 Challenge either… haha. It was a fun challenge, but a little unrealistic for me, since there were so many categories I wanted to read books from. Sigh. Well, it’s not the end of the world at all! The first half of the year I really took it seriously. 🙂

      Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

