The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post — November 29th, 2015 | #38

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


Last week on the blog:


What I read:

  • Explorer: The Mystery Boxes edited by Kazu Kibuishi. [Goodreads] 3 stars. This is a visually gorgeous though story-wise lackluster anthology featuring the writing and illustrations of of Emily Carroll, Dave Roman, Raina Telgemeier, Jason Caffoe, Rad Sechrist, Stuart Livingston, Stephanie Ramirez, Johane Matte, Saymone Phanekham, and Kazu Kibuishi. Emily Carroll’s story, Under the Floorboards, was definitely the best, which is no surprise seeing as she created the incredibly dark and twisted and purely amazing graphic novel Through the Woods.

Currently reading:

  

  • An Inheritance of Ashes by Leah Bobet. [Goodreads] Haven’t made much progress…
  • City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare. [Goodreads] Haven’t made much progress…
  • Forever with You by Jennifer L. Armentrout. [Goodreads] Not loving this yet because eh, Steph’s not my favorite character due to the history she’s had in previous books. But I’ll read anything by JLA at this point.

The library haul:

Here’s what I picked up from the library this week.

 


In other news…

I won NaNoWriMo on Friday night in the very wee hours! (3am, if you’re wondering.) 50,000 words have been written! I actually abandoned my space sci-fi because it reached a giant road block and began to demand that I turn it into a completely different story — which I so was not going to write. (Stupid stubborn story. This is what I get for being a pantser.) So I started writing a fantasy that’s been in my head now for almost two years. I may have ended up with 50k words of writing, but I do not have a finished story at all. More like beginnings. That’s okay, though, I’m happy that I just wrote a lot this month. I’ve missed writing fiction regularly, and NaNoWriMo is an excellent motivator — especially because this year they introduced badges you can receive for logging your word count a certain amount of days in a row… I didn’t write 30 days in a row, but I wrote almost every day, and managed to get about a week ahead of schedule right before I got writer’s block at the start of week three. It really pays to write like a maniac because then the falling behind schedule thing isn’t so bad.

Besides that, I’ve also finished my Studio Ghibli marathon! 22 films watched, most revisited but a few new to me. I’m hard at work putting together a special series of posts for the blog about the Ghibli movies. I’m really excited! Also, if you haven’t checked it out, I finally introduced a new page to the blog called Film & TV where I’m listing all the foreign (ahem, mostly Asian) movies and TV shows I’ve watched since this fall. I’ve been wanting to incorporate the completely visual form of stories on the blog for a long time now, and this is a small step toward perhaps writing monthly posts about my “viewing” experiences. 🙂


What are you currently reading?

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

9 thoughts on “The Sunday Post — November 29th, 2015 | #38

  1. I read FORVER WITH YOU last week . . . and yeah, it wasn’t really my favourite JLA book. I mean, I enjoyed it and I loved how we got to know Steph a lot more (it showed her a lot more that the Bitchy Girl Who Sleeps Around like she was portrayed in previous books) but I miss the old characters, haha. And congrats SO much on winning NaNo!!!! Awesome achievement 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! And Forever with You went exactly how I predicted it would. (It was kind of obvious…) It definitely wasn’t as romantic as the other books in the series, nor did I connect with Steph or Nick as much as I wanted. I still flew through it and liked it, but it wasn’t the best. Roxy was awesome, though! I loved reading all the scenes she was in. 🙂

      Like

  2. Nice job winning NaNoWriMo! I barely made it to 20,000 let alone 50k. And City of Ashes is a great book! Do you plan on reading all of the books? Have you read the Infernal Devices?

    Like

  3. Congrats on winning NaNoWriMo! 50k wow! I barely made it to 20k, lol. But oh well at least there is next year. And City of Ashes is an epic book, you’ll probably love. Have you read the prequels? Do you plan on reading the rest of the series? And most importantly do you intend on watching the new show?

    Like

    1. Thanks, Chrissa! 20k is still a lot, though! That’s, like, a quarter of a novel! Because I technically worked on two different novels this month, I have roughly 25k for each story. Beginnings are always good to have. 🙂 As for City of Ashes, I’m definitely exited to really dive into it. I’ve only read City of Bones, and I do plan on reading all of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices. I watched the City of Bones movie and liked it, even though they changed SO MUCH at the end, gah. :-/ I’ve seen the previews for the Shadowhunters TV show and I’m on the fence about it… I really like Jamie Campbell-Bower as Jace and think Lily Collins makes a good Clary, so I’m already biased against the new show. Plus the production values and acting of the TV series look a little sub-par so far… Hmmm…

      Like

    2. I totally get what you mean about the show. It could either be an epic series that I watch avidly or a complete disaster that I wouldn’t watch for anything. What really gets me is the new character they added. She literally serves no purpose.

      Like

    3. From the previews of the first episode that I saw, there is a girl that seems to be Simon’s girlfriend. She’s with Simon and Clary in the Pandemonium.

      Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

