Monthly Wrap-Ups · The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post — November 1st, 2015 [#34] | Monthly Wrap-Up Edition: October 2015 [#14]

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


Last week on the blog:

 


What I read:

  


What I read last month:

Here are all the books I read in October 2015 (6 books).
(Yeah, it was a slow month for reading…)

     

Click on a title to read my review.

  1. The Wicked + the Divine, Volume 1: The Faust Act by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, and Clayton Cowles. 3 stars.
  2. Calamity Jack by Shannon and Dean Hale, illustrated by Nathan Hale. 3 stars.
  3. The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan. 4 stars.
  4. Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis. 3 stars.
  5. Currents by Jane Petrlik Smolik. 4 stars.
  6. The Wicked + the Divine, Vol. 2: Fandemonium by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, and Clayton Cowles. 3 stars.

Additionally, I posted reviews this past month for The Marvels by Brian Selznick; The Wicked + the Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust ActSaga, Volumes 2, 3, and 4; and Stay with Me by J. Lynn/Jennifer L. Armentrout.


Lightning round:

Quick thoughts on October 2015’s books.

  • Favorite? The Sword of Summer. Although it’s not my favorite of Rick Riordan’s books.
  • Books I recommend? The Sword of Summer, if you’re not tired of the same formula Rick uses for all his books. Also, Currents, for those who enjoy middle grade historical fiction.
  • Most surprising? (Good or bad.) Currents turned out to be a lot sadder/more serious than I anticipated. (In a good way.) But then — THE WICKED + THE DIVINE, VOL. 2!!!! THAT ENDING AAAAAAAAAH.
  • Favorite cover? Spinning Starlight‘s cover is beautiful, so simple but stunning. But The Sword of Summer has a very nice cover, too.
  • Continue/finish any series? I read Calamity Jack, which is the sequel to Rapunzel’s Revenge. And the second volume of collected issues in The Wicked + the Divine.
  • Dragons? None, sadly. But I did read about a various gods and retold myths and fairy tales. 🙂

Currently reading:

  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. Really enjoying this so far. I love how the story is told through all sorts of mediums, like interviews, emails, IMs, letters, etc. It’s my goal to finish this ASAP.

Most popular reviews:

Here are the 10 most popular reviews from October 2015.

Click on a title to read my review.

  1. The Resurrectionist by E.B. Hudspeth continues to get a ton of hits every month! Why?? (I’m not complaining!)
  2. Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan. No surprise here.
  3. The Marvels by Brian Selznick. Glad to see this was a popular review.
  4. The Prey by Tom Isbell. A negative review, but I guess negative reviews are relatively entertaining to read?
  5. Manhattan Mayhem edited by Mary Higgins Clark. A great anthology of mystery/crime short stories.
  6. Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis. I read this last week and reviewed it pronto!
  7. My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga. Oooh, I loved this book and am glad to see it squeak onto this list!
  8. Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge. I also wrote a long Monday Musing about why I like this book more and more.
  9. Finding Serendipity by Angelica Banks. A really cute middle grade novel with a flying dog, if I remember correctly.
  10. Alive by Scott Sigler was the tenth most popular review people clicked on in October.

Non-review posts:

Here are all the non-review posts from October 2015.


The library haul:

Here’s what I picked up from the library this week.

   

  • The Wicked + the Divine, Vol. 2: Fandemonium by Gillen, McKelvie, Wilson, and Cowles. 3 stars. Gorgeous, gorgeous artwork, though a lacking/confusing plot.
  • A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis. Mindy’s got a new book! In the meantime, check out my reviews for Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust.
  • The Rose Society by Marie Lu. Check out of my review of book 1, The Young Elites, which is still one of my favorite reviews I’ve written to date. I had very mixed feelings about it but I’m very excited to see where the story goes in book 2.
  • Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch. The sequel to Snow Like Ashes (which I reviewed), which was an enjoyable high fantasy.

In other news…

I’m going to try tackling NaNoWriMo again this year! Originally I was going to write a book about Chinese mythology, but now I don’t think I’m going to… Why? Because I suddenly had this great scene just randomly pop into my head that would make for a really cool sci-fi space romance. With just that one scene that really excited me, I’m going to attempt to write a book inspired by that idea. I’m a pantser at heart, even though I’ve tried being a plotter. And I’m actually really looking forward to seeing where the story and characters take me. I’m going to allow myself completely free reign because I have literally no idea what’s going to happen; the scene came to me just two or three days ago and I haven’t thought about it much. I’ll let you know how it goes. 😉


What are you currently reading?
What was your favorite book you read in October?
And are you participating in NaNoWriMo this year?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

2 thoughts on “The Sunday Post — November 1st, 2015 [#34] | Monthly Wrap-Up Edition: October 2015 [#14]

  1. Oh my! This is such a great recap! I am currently reading Six of Crows and my next read will also be Illuminae. With so many wonderful reviews I am looking forward to start 🙂 By the way, I LOVE your header image! Your blog is really pretty, Mallory.

    Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

