Tags, Awards & Challenges

The Real Neat Blog Award!

So at the beginning of this month, Chiara from Books for a Delicate Eternity nominated me for the Real Neat Blog Award! Thank you, darling! Can’t wait to (finally) give you and the rest of the world my answers!


The rules are:

  • Answer the five questions given to you by your nominator
  • Ask your own five questions of the five blogs you nominate

1. What is your favorite book series?

   

Ooooh, that’s so hard! I have so many! But Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, The Inheritance Cycle, and the Graceling Realm always top my list. I also love Pendragon, The Books of Bayern, His Dark Materials, Chronicles of Ancient Darkness, and Warriors, to name some more. Should I go on…? 😉


2. Most anticipated late 2015 and/or 2016 release?

 

Winter by Marissa Meyer for late 2015, but I’m seriously looking forward to Starflight by Melissa Landers in early 2016.


3. Name one of your auto-buy authors, and why they have that title.

Since I don’t buy books that often, I’m changing this to “auto-read”. Right now, those authors would be Rick Riordan (I’ve read every single one of his mythology novels), Jennifer L. Armentrout (almost all done with her YA and NA series), and Kate DiCamillo (I think I’ve read all but one of her Middle Grade novels). Kristin Cashore would be on the list if she would ever come out with another book!!!!!


4. What is one trope that you love to hate?

Probably the guy saving the girl more than once in a book. It’s kind of romantic but also annoying because why does the girl always need to be rescued? Isn’t she a capable, smart woman? I love the rare instances where the girl saves herself and the guy comes to help her anyway, but they only meet up after the girl’s gotten herself out of the sticky situation. That’s a win-win for me, but when it’s just one person getting saved all the time? Gah.


5. Do you prefer character or plot driven novels?

Character-driven novels! If I can’t connect to the main character(s), the book is lost on me, even if the plot is awesome. If I really like or even love the protagonist, I’ll read the book even if it doesn’t have much of a plot, or the plot isn’t that great. Um, take A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston. So many people didn’t like that book because of it’s total lack of plot, but I loved it because of the characters.


Here are your five questions:

  1. What’s a book you love or hate so much that when it comes up, you find yourself endlessly going on about?
  2. Who is your favorite villain?
  3. What’s a book you were required to read that you didn’t think you’d like, but you ended up liking?
  4. If you could meet any author, who would it be and what one question would you make sure to ask them?
  5. What’s one of your favorite first sentences from a book?

I’m doing the cop-out and leaving this tag open to anyone who wants to do it.

Consider yourself nominated

for the Real Neat Blog Award if you’re reading this, ha! 😀

And, once again, thank you, Chiara, for tagging me! It’s always great fun answer bookish questions! ❤


Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

4 thoughts on “The Real Neat Blog Award!

  1. Oh, I love these answers!

    I have not yet read ANY of the series you mentioned here, and if they are your favourites, then I obviously need to fix that! I really want to read the Harry Potter books soon, because I love the movies, and I did read and love the first book as a kid … and I just want to read them because everyone loves them, and they are kind of a staple series, right?
    I do have a copy of Graceling! So I can read that whenever I want. And I also have nearly the entire Inheritance Cycle, and I also have the first Percy Jackson book. So I intend to read those series! I just need to whip my butt into gear and actually get around to them, haha XD
    I STILL NEED TO READ CRESS. I cannot believe I haven’t. But I can totally understand why you’re looking forward to Winter! I haven’t heard of Starlight, but that cover is beyond beautiful, so I have to check it out now.
    I’ve only read Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Half Blood series, which I really liked! The last book wasn’t the greatest, but I still liked reading the series. It was super fun and addictive. I really want to read more of her books 😀
    Ohhh, I don’t like that trope, either. I hate it when female characters constantly require saving from male characters. Like, being saved once is okay. And then you train and learn how to fight so you don’t need to be saved again.
    I LOVE character driven novels, too! Which is why I want to read A Thousand Nights! 😀 I normally connect a lot more to the characters if it is a character-driven novel, because as a reader I get to know them so much better.

    Thanks for answering these questions, lovely! It was awesome to read your answers ❤

    Like

    1. Go read Graceling ASAP! And then the companion books Fire and Bitterblue. They are epic political fantasy books with great bits of fighting and romance, too. I want to reread them so baaaaadly… Plus, Bitterblue might be one of my favorite book covers of all time.

      And the Inheritance Cycle is great, probably my favorite dragon books ever. The books are wonderful, and although they borrow a lot from other fantasy stories, they’re great fun and very immersive.

      The Percy Jackson series is hilarious and a wonderful spin on Greek mythology. And Harry Potter is definitely a staple, and a series that, if you love, you’re going to want to marathon all week long. It’s very doable to read a book a day if you’re really into it. 😀

      Starlight is a new sci-fi book by Melissa Landers who wrote the Alienated duology — which is now FINALLY going to become a trilogy, hallelujah! (Just because the second book really didn’t wrap everything up the way I wanted it to. So glad she’s finally going to write a third book!) But Starflight is a completely new series by her, and that COVER is gorgeous!

      I’ve read all the books in the Half Blood series EXCEPT for the last one because my library seems to have lost its one copy… 😦 I’ve heard the last book is a bit disappointing but I really want to finish the series someday. I do love her Lux and Dark Elements series, as well as her NA books. Jennifer writes romance like no one else, agh!

      Haha, look at us — writing insanely long comments!! So great to have a dialogue about all this! Thanks for tagging me, hun! ❤

      Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

