Monthly Wrap-Ups · The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post — September 6th, 2015 [#26] | Monthly Wrap-Up Edition: August 2015 [#12]

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


Last week on the blog:

    


What I read:

      

  • Taking Flight: From War Orphan to Star Ballerina by Michaela DePrince with Elaine DePrince. 4 stars. Great memoir about Michaela DePrince’s childhood.
  • Warriors: Into the Wild by Erin Hunter. 5 stars! My favorite series as a kid; I was obsessed with these books about cats! SO GOOD! Nostalgia!
  • Who Could That Be at This Hour? by Lemony Snicket. 3 stars. I love Lemony Snicket, but I’m no longer a kid, so this book just didn’t really satisfy me. Although I’ll always love A Series of Unfortunate Events.
  • The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow. 3 stars. Pretty uneven book, although interesting in the latter third.
  • Warriors: Fire and Ice by Erin Hunter. 5 stars! Not as good as book 1, Into the Wild, but the character development and foreshadowing is wonderful here. Can’t wait to start book 3, Forest of Secrets! 😀
  • A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston. 4 stars. The writing is absolutely beautiful here. It’s so completely different from The Wrath and the Dawn, also a One Thousand and One Nights/Arabian Nights retelling, but I think I like A Thousand Nights more… although The Wrath and the Dawn wins for best slow-burn romance I’ve read in a long time. 😉

What I read last month:

Here are all the books I read in August 2015.
(30 books! Well, half were graphic novels, but even so!)

            The Fox                 

Click on a title to read my review.

  1. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum. 3 stars. Still prefer the movie!
  2. In Real Life by Cory Doctorow, illustrated by Jen Wang. 4 stars.
  3. Through the Woods by Emily Carroll. 5 stars! Amazing and creepy as heck! I want to own this book, it’s that amazing.
  4. Rapunzel’s Revenge by Shannon & Dean Hale, illustrated by Nathan Hale. 2 stars.
  5. Chopsticks by Jessica Anthony and Rodrigo Corral. 3 stars. Good, and definitely think it’s worth reading, but I wasn’t blown away by it.
  6. A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle. 2 stars. Glad to have read a Sherlock Holmes mystery finally, but I’m going to stick with my BBC Sherlock.
  7. This One Summer by Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki. 2 stars. Wasn’t my cup’o coffee…
  8. Amulet, Book 2: The Stonekeeper’s Curse by Kazu Kibuishi. 4 stars.
  9. The Undertaking of Lily Chen by Danica Novgorodoff. 1 star. So not what I signed up for.
  10. Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout. 4 stars. ❤ ❤ ❤
  11. Earth and Sky by Megan Crewe. 3 stars. Aliens and time travel. Pretty fun ride!
  12. Fall with Me by J. Lynn/Jennifer L. Armentrout. 4 stars.
  13. Love, Volume 2: The Fox by Frederic Brremaud, illustrated by Federico Bertolucci. 5 stars! I teared up! The artwork is phenomenal! GAAAH!
  14. Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson. 4 stars. Wonderful memoir told in verse.
  15. Tangled Webs by Lee Bross. 1 star. The ista-love is strong with this one…
  16. Amulet, Book 3: The Cloud Searchers by Kazu Kibuishi. 4 stars.
  17. From a Distant Star by Karen McQuestion. 3 stars. Awesome friendship.
  18. Amulet, Book 4: The Last Council by Kazu Kibuishi. 3 stars. Dagno the baby dragon is GOLD!
  19. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. 3 stars. Despite being spoiled for the twist, I actually liked this a lot more than I thought would.
  20. Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by K.G. Campbell. 5 stars! Kate DiCamillo does it again! I was laughing my head off! New favorite, new favorite!
  21. Saga, Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples. 5 stars! Lives up to all the hype. If I had money I’d just buy all the books so I could marathon them and own them. I love space operas now.
  22. Manga Classics: Pride and Prejudice adapted by Stacy King, illustrated by Po Tse. 4 stars. My very first manga!
  23. Amulet, Book 5: Prince of the Elves by Kazu Kibuishi. 3 stars.
  24. Amulet, Book 6: Escape from Lucien by Kazu Kibuishi. 3 stars.
  25. Manga Classics: Les Miserables adapted by Crystal Silvermoon, script by Stacy King, illustrated by SunNeko Lee. 4 stars.
  26. The Red Chameleon by Erica Wright. 3 stars.
  27. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells. 2 stars. Weena! Little Weena!
  28. Zeroboxer by Fonda Lee. 4 stars. Awesome sci-fi sports novel that really impressed me.
  29. The Cage by Megan Shepherd. 3 stars. Man, this really messes with your head.
  30. Taking Flight: From War Orphan to Star Ballerina by Michael DePrince, with Elaine DePrince. 4 stars. Michaela’s story is so inspiring.

What I DNF-ed:

Here’s what I DNF-ed last month… 😦

Click the title to read my review.

  • Hunter by Mercedes Lackey. I gave up at 44%. The amount of info dumping and exposition is insane here.

Lightning round:

Quick thoughts on August 2015’s books.

  • Favorites? Saga, Volume 1, Through the Woods, and Flora and Ulysses were absolutely amazing!
  • Least favorites? Besides Hunter, which I DNF-ed, I really didn’t like Tangled Webs or The Undertaking of Lily Chen.
  • Books I recommend to everyone? Saga, Volume 1, Through the Woods, and Flora and Ulysses again!
  • Most surprising? (Good or bad.) Good: Everything, Everything surprised me! I didn’t think I’d enjoy it but I did! Not as good: I didn’t love Chopsticks like I thought I would. It’s still good, but it just wasn’t my cup of tea.
  • Any rereads? Nope — but I’ve already reread two books this first week of September! 😀
  • Could see myself rereading? Saga, Volume 1, Through the Woods, and Flora and Ulysses! Are we sensing how much I loved these books?
  • Favorite cover? The Undertaking of Lily Chen. That watercolor illustration is beautiful.
  • Any new ships/OTPs? I adore Marco and Alana from Saga, Volume 1! They’re both seriously cool and balance each other perfectly.
  • Continue/finish any series? I finished Jennifer L. Armentrout’s The Dark Elements trilogy with Every Last Breath. I caught up with Kazu Kibuishi’s Amulet series. And I read Fall with Me, book #4 in the Wait For You series by J. Lynn (aka Jennifer L. Armentrout).
  • Dragons? The Amulet books! Dagno the baby dragon!
  • Can’t believe I waited until now to finally read? The Wizard of Oz. I totally missed out on this during my childhood. But also Saga, Volume 1, Through the Woods, and Flora and Ulysses!

Currently reading:

 

  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. Not very far in because I’ve been finishing other books, but Maggie’s writing is absolutely gorgeous and I already love all the characters and think that the plot is going to be fantastic. I’m hoping to marathon the three books this week!
  • Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman. Just started this, and I actually love the voice and stylistic writing. Also, what an amazing first chapter. I’m hooked.

Soon to be reviewed:

       

EDIT: Click on a title to read my review!


The library haul:

Here’s what I picked up from the library this week.

    

  • The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen. Eh, unlikely I’ll read this. Just not in the mood right now.
  • Liesl and Po by Lauren Oliver. Wasn’t a huge fan of Delirium, but I’m willing to try Lauren’s middle grade book.
  • The Spindlers by Lauren Oliver. Ditto^.
  • Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen. People keep raving about Sarah’s newest book. I’ve read three of her books before and liked them, although I didn’t find them very memorable.
  • The Accidental Highwayman: Being the Tale of Kit Bristol, His Horse Midnight, a Mysterious Princess, and Sundry Magical Persons Besides by Ben Tripp. Just the title sold me. Have no idea if I’ll get around to reading this, even though I’d like to.

Most popular reviews:

Here’s what you clicked on most in August 2015.

Click on a title to read my review.

  1. Alive by Scott Sigler.
  2. The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black by E.B. Hudspeth.
  3. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab.
  4. The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo.
  5. Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty.
  6. Stone Cold Touch and Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout.
  7. My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga.
  8. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum.
  9. Manhattan Mayhem edited by Mary Higgins Clark.
  10. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon.

Non-review posts:

Here are all the non-review posts from August 2015.


In other news…

Yeah, so, remember how I said last week I’d be doing a separate Stacking the Shelves post for the books I acquire and check out from the library? Well, it turns out I’m feeling lazy today, plus I didn’t do my usual gigantic library shopping this week. So totally disregard what I said in the last Sunday Post. For now, you’re doing to keep getting my hauls in these weekly wrap-ups. 😛

Also, I’ve finally hit 80% on NetGalley! (Took me a year!) Currently I’m sitting at 84% and my goal is to get to 90% before I request any more books. Let’s see how long that lasts…


What are you currently reading?

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

2 thoughts on “The Sunday Post — September 6th, 2015 [#26] | Monthly Wrap-Up Edition: August 2015 [#12]

  1. Looks like you had an awesome reading month! I just found your blog and I love the aesthetics 🙂 Zeroboxer sounds incredibly unique!

    Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

