The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post — August 30th, 2015 | #25

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


Last week on the blog:

       


What I read:

  

  • The Time Machine by H.G. Wells. 3 stars. Was bored at parts, intrigued at others.
  • Zeroboxer by Fonda Lee. 4 stars. Excellent sci-fi sports novel that really impressed me!
  • The Cage by Megan Shepherd. 3 stars. This was a tough read; it’s so dark and twisted.

What I DNF-ed:

  • Hunter by Mercedes Lackey. DNF-ed at 44%. It sounded so cool and totally up my alley. But it was info dump after info dump, exposition and more exposition. All the world building and history, while cool, didn’t need to be told for chapters on end. I also didn’t really have a good grasp of what was going on, and could have cared less about the characters. The only cool things were the two battles I read about and the Hounds. So disappointing. I forced myself to read almost half of this and I just couldn’t do it anymore.

Soon to be reviewed:

      

EDIT: Click on a title to read my review!

  • Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson. Agh, it’s been weeks since I finished this and I’m really debating if I’m going to write a full review of it or not…
  • Manga Classics: Pride and Prejudice adapted by Stacy King, illustrated by Po Tse. Review coming on Thursday!
  • Manga Classics: Les Miserables adapted by Crystal Silvermoon, script by Stacy King, illustrated by SunNeko Lee. Review coming on Thursday!
  • The Time Machine by H.G. Wells.
  • Zeroboxer by Fonda Lee. Review coming on Tuesday!
  • The Cage by Megan Shepard. Review coming on Friday!
  • Hunter by Mercedes Lackey. Since it’s a review copy, I’m going to write a DNF review talking about why I quit it and what I disliked about it so much. (Mainly: all the info dumping!)

Currently reading:


The books I acquired:

Here are the books I acquired this week.


The library haul:

Here’s what I picked up from the library this week.

   

  • The Raven BoysThe Dream Thieves, and Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater. MY LIBRARY HAD THE THREE OF THEM SITTING ON THE SHELF. It was my lucky day. I saw them and practically ran to snatch them up. I sense a series marathon coming up…
  • Taking Flight: From War Orphan to Star Ballerina by Michael DePrince with Elaine DePrince. Michaela is a black ballerina also breaking boundaries (anyone heard of Misty Copeland’s recent promotion to Principal at American Ballet Theatre?). This is her memoir about how she got to where she is today, dancing with a renowned European ballet company.

In other news:

While I love my Sunday Post feature, I’ve noticed that it’s a very long post some weeks (and even longer for the monthly wrap-up edition). I’m thinking of taking out two sections, “books I acquired” and “what I borrowed from the library” and chronicling those books in a separate Stacking the Shelves post every week or two.

Why this change? I’m exploring new ways to keep the blog fresh and from getting stuck in a (comfy) little track. I’m sure you’ve noticed the design changes I’ve made this past week, switching the color scheme and making new graphics and, majorly, an entirely new blog logo! I’m planning discussion posts to add to the mix, and I’m even considering going back to my monthly TBR posts to set myself some goals to hopefully stick by them better. What do you all think? Any suggestions you’d like to throw me?


What are you currently reading?

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

5 thoughts on “The Sunday Post — August 30th, 2015 | #25

  1. Love the new blog look! I read The Time Machine last fall for a lit. class and was almost bored to tears! Way too much political commentary and not enough sci-fi action! I’m planning on starting The Raven Boys series soon- everyone and their uncle loves, but it just keeps getting pushed down on my TBR for some reason. Looking forward to your thoughts on it!

    Like

    1. (I swear I replied to this comment already but it looks like WordPress ate it. Here’s round 2.) The Raven Boys are books everyone raves about and I keep meaning to read. I love Maggie Stiefvater, she’s one of my favorite authors all because of The Scorpio Races, so now I guess it’s time to see what her super-popular series is like. I’ve got very high hopes! And I’m currently reading H.G. Wells’ The War of the Worlds. Not very far into it so I can’t really judge, but I have an inkling I may like it more than The Time Machine.

      Like

  2. Aww what a shame you didn’t much like Hunter! I haven’t heard all that much about that one, but I’m still quite curious. And I can’t WAIT to see what you think of The Raven Boys. Everyone LOVED that series… where I was the black sheep, haha. Didn’t dislike them, but I didn’t love them like I wanted to either, you know? Have a great week. 🙂

    Like

    1. Yeah, Hunter was sooo disappointing. It pained me to DNF it, but now I’m glad I didn’t try to force myself to finish it. A ton of other reviewers DNF-ed it, too, so it doesn’t seem like I’m the minority in terms of disliking it. And I’m hoping to marathon The Raven Boys series this week or next. I’ve heard that the first book is a bit confusing, but I love Maggie Stiefvater’s writing so I’m going to power through. 🙂

      Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

