Book Reviews

Review — Earth and Sky by Megan Crewe

Book title: Earth and Sky
Author: Megan Crewe
Series: Earth and Sky, #1
Publisher: Skyscape (Amazon Children’s Publishing)
Release date: October 2014
Format: Egalley, 308 pages
Source: I received this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, Skyscape!

add-to-goodreads-button


Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Skylar has been haunted for as long as she can remember by fleeting yet powerful sensations that something is horribly wrong. But despite the visions of disaster that torment her, nothing ever happens, and Sky’s beginning to think she’s crazy. Then she meets a mysterious, otherworldly boy named Win and discovers the shocking truth her premonitions have tapped into: that our world no longer belongs to us. For thousands of years, life on Earth has been at the mercy of alien scientists who care nothing for humans and are using us as the unwitting subjects of their time-manipulating experiments. Win belongs to a rebel faction seeking to put a stop to it, and he needs Skylar’s help to save the world and keep the very fabric of reality together. Megan Crewe’s latest tale takes readers on a mind-bending journey through time with a cast of unforgettable characters.


The review:

I love time travel. I like aliens. I knew this book was about aliens. But I totally missed the memo about time travel. Imagine my surprise when time traveling aliens was a thing! So very cool.

Anyway, Earth and Sky is about a human girl named Skylar who meets an alien boy named Win. Win is from the planet Kemya and is part of a rebel group attempting to stop the Kemya Enforcers from changing and tinkering (aka experimenting) with Earth’s timeline. Skylar finds herself jumping from revolutionary France to ancient China and back to present-day America with Win as they flee from the Enforcers (specifically a woman named Kurra) and try to track down the rebel leader Jeanant, by solving the clues he’s left behind for his followers.

Time traveling is so complicated. Megan Crewe does a good job at explaining her rules, but even so I was confused at times. Skylar and Win definitely alter a few timelines during their travels, and the ripple effects concerned them and me. Then there was the whole doxing (paradoxing) rule, which I think I understood. Basically, time travel is complicated as heck. So fascinating and awesome, but it really makes your head spin.

Skylar was an interesting enough protagonist. At times she acted smart, but at other times really dumb. There’s also this whole sub-plot about her brother that was really cringe-worthy (in a good way) and that, while necessary for her character development in this book, is probably going to become a much bigger plot point in later books. I can just feel it. It doesn’t seem over yet… Skylar tried to change her brother’s timeline in this book but didn’t end up doing so. So you know she’s going to end up changing his timeline later on. Ooooh, not a good idea, Skylar, really not a good idea…

There is obviously some attraction between Skylar and Win, because Win just so happens to be a teenage-looking alien boy who also is attractive. *Face-palm.* Well, I’m glad to say that there is very little romance featured here, although the little bit did feel a bit forced. Sure, they kissed once or twice, but the two of them were wholly preoccupied with escaping the evil Enforcers and finding Jeanant at various places in time. I’m sure there will be more romance in the sequels, but luckily it’s very muted here. The adventure takes center stage and I was very happy to discover that. Not all girls need to fall head over heels in love with hot alien boys. Props to Skylar for basically deciding, “I ain’t got time for that!”

I enjoyed Earth and Sky. It was fun and fast-paced. It had me constantly thinking about the rules of time travel, which had me engaged always. I wasn’t a huge fan of any of the characters, and Win seemed pretty bland sometimes, but I understood everyone’s decisions and motives and the way they acted because of them. This is a really good sci-fi novel with lots of action, and I’m looking forward to the rest of the series. There are definitely a lot of places the story could go, and I’m especially interested in getting to know the other rebels, like Thlo and Jule, more. ♦


So tell me…

Have you read Earth and Sky? If you haven’t, would you be interested to? What was the last book you read featuring time travel? How about aliens? Comment below letting me know! And, as always, happy reading!

Mallory signature

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

2 thoughts on “Review — Earth and Sky by Megan Crewe

  1. Ooh, I didn’t realize this was about aliens OR time travel… which are two things that I am very interested in reading about, actually. Looks like I might have to give this one a go. There’s a distinct lack of sci fi in YA (although that seems to be on the rise lately — or just my imagination?) so this is definitely going on my TBR list 🙂

    Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

