The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post — August 9th, 2015 | #22

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


Last week on the blog:

     


What I read:

        

  • A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle. 3 stars. Finally got around to reading a Sherlock Holmes mystery! First half was good, second half not so much.
  • This One Summer by Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki. 3 stars. Not what I thought it was going to be like.
  • Amulet, Book 2: The Stonekeeper’s Curse by Kazu Kibuishi. 4 stars. Absolutely gorgeous artwork as usual!
  • The Undertaking of Lily Chen by Danica Novgorodoff. 2 stars. Disappointing. 😦
  • Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout. 4 stars. Gah, the conclusion to the Dark Elements trilogy! Really good, but definitely romance-heavy. Everything felt a bit too… neat? Still loved it, though!
  • Earth and Sky by Megan Crewe. 3 stars. Time travel is tricky business. Very fun book, though!
  • Fall with Me by Jennifer L. Armentrout. 4 stars. Didn’t like this NA romance as much as Wait for You, but this was still very enjoyable.
  • Love, Volume 2: The Fox by Frederic Brremaud, illustrated by Federico Bertolucci. 5 stars. I read this as soon as I got it. And I totally teared up! Listening to sad movie soundtracks might have helped the tears come along, but the story is unexpected and terrifying and I was completely gripped. I think I liked this more than the first volume, The Tiger!
  • Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson. 4 stars. A memoir about Jacqueline’s childhood, told in verse. Very good! Finished this today, Sunday.

As for the Booktubeathon challenges I was going to attempt, I switched a few things around a little. This week, starting at midnight on Monday the 3rd, I read eight books! (Three were graphic novels, but, hey, I’m happy!) As this post is going up on the blog the evening of the 9th, I’m essentially ending my personal Booktubeathon reading week now, a while before the clock strikes midnight. I’m burnt out. I’m going to decompress now and do something not book related. 🙂

Here are the challenges and the books I ended up assigning them:

  1. Read a book with blue on the cover. “Earth and Sky by Megan Crewe.” Done!
  2. Read a book by an author who shares the same first letter of your last name. “In my case, the letter is “M”. So, From a Distant Star by Karen McQuestion.” Didn’t read this book, nor accomplish this challenge, sadly. 😦
  3. Read someone else’s favorite book. “My mom’s current favorite is All the Light We Cannot See, and we just got it in the mail from Amazon, yippee!” Didn’t read this book, nor accomplish this challenge, sadly. 😦
  4. Read the last book you acquired. “I went to library on Saturday and picked up a few books, and one the I’d like to read this week is This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki.” Done!
  5. Finish a book without letting go of it, literally. “A graphic novel is an obvious choice for this challenge. So I’ll be reading V for Vendetta in, hopefully, one sitting.” Turns out I just didn’t feel like reading V for Vendetta, so I DNF-ed it. I ended up reading three books in one sitting this week, all graphic novels: Amulet, Book 2: The Stonekeeper’s Curse by Kazu Kibuishi, The Undertaking of Lily Chen by Danica Novgorodoff, and Love, Volume II: The Fox by Frederic Brremaud and illustrated by Federico Bertolucci! (Though, The Fox was on my computer; the other two books were paperbacks.)
  6. Read a book you just really want to read. “Gah, so many choices! I’ll pick the book spontaneously because I can’t decide right now!” I read Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout, the third and final book in the Dark Elements trilogy. Gah, so good!
  7. Read seven books. “If it just so happens that I can manage this feat, I’ll pick the seventh book when I get to it.” I did read seven books this week! Eight, actually! Although I didn’t complete two of the other challenges, I rounded out my week with book #7 being Wait for You by J. Lynn/Jennifer L. Armentrout and book #8 being Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson!

I’d say I had a pretty successful reading week! It’s only the 9th of the month and I’ve read 14 books total! This is going to be a great month, I feel like… Now, just gotta read all those ARCs I talked about in last week’s wrap-up post


What I DNF-ed:

  • V for Vendetta by Alan Moore, illustrated by David Lloyd. I was going to try to read this acclaimed graphic novel this week for the Booktubeathon, but when I sat down to read it, I discovered I just wasn’t that interested anymore. Plus, I found reading all the tiny type hard on the eyes, so that didn’t help my case. I would like to read this someday, but right now isn’t the time. I stopped very early on, at page 30.

Soon to be reviewed:

           

EDIT: Click on a title to read my review!

Look at how productive I was this past week, too! I wrote reviews for so many books! And I’ve got this entire week of blog posts scheduled! That hasn’t happened since months ago! 😀 (Also, look at all those exclamation points!)


Currently reading:

 

  • The Red Chameleon by Erica Wright. Okay, goal for this week: Finish this book!
  • Tangled Webs by Lee Bross. Interesting and I’ll probably finish this next, but PLEASE STOP WITH THE INSTA-LOVE.

The books I acquired:

Here are the books I acquired this week.

  

  • Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis. Egalley. Fairytale retelling, oh joy!
  • The Faerie Guardian by Rachel Morgan. Kindle. Benjaminoftomes’ Free Book Friday pick of the week.
  • Love, Volume 2: The Fox by Frederic Brremaud, illustrated by Federico Bertolucci. Egalley. I read this as soon as I got it. 5 stars! Absolutely breathtaking artwork! And I totally teared up. The story is unexpected and terrifying and I was completely gripped. I think I liked this more than the first volume, The Tiger!

The library haul:

Here’s what I picked up from the library this week.

        

  • Amulet, Book 2: The Stonekeeper’s Curse by Kazu Kibuishi. 4 stars. I actually read this at the library, I didn’t bring it home. Mini-review coming on Saturday!
  • The Undertaking of Lily Chen by Danica Novgorodoff. 2 stars. I actually read this at the library, I didn’t bring it home. Mini-review coming on Saturday!
  • Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout. 4 stars. The third and last book in the Dark Elements series!
  • Fall with Me by Jennifer L. Armentrout. 4 stars. Didn’t like this NA romance as much as Wait for You, but this was still very enjoyable.
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman. I need to read more Neil Gaiman. I hope that I’ll feel in the mood to read this soon.
  • Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson. 4 stars. Excellent memoir told in verse. I’d like to own this, actually.
  • Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brien. I feel like I read this years and years ago, but I don’t remember if I did or not… Still, I love reading books about mice, is that weird? (Secrets at Sea by Robert Peck, Redwall by Brian Jacques, the later Chronicles of Narnia books by C.S. Lewis…)
  • Who Could That Be at This Hour? by Lemony Snicket. Because Lemony Snicket is awesome and hilarious and has such a wicked sense of humor.
  • Flora and Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo. Because I adore Kate DiCamillo and I’ve read nearly all her books except this one and one other.

What I am planning to read next:

ALL THE ARCS. And the many library books I have been renewing for weeks now…


Script - So Tell Me

What are you currently reading?

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Post — August 9th, 2015 | #22

Got something to say? SPILL!

