Monthly TBR · Tags, Awards & Challenges

I’m participating in the 3rd Annual ARC August!

ARC August is hosted by Octavia and Shelly from Read.Sleep.Repeat.


So I’ve decided to join ARC August this year because I am woefully behind on my review copies. I just haven’t felt motivated to read all my egalleys recently, and I really want to get my ARC pile under control. I’m also thinking of participating in the 3rd annual Booktubeathon, as well, but obviously just in terms of the challenges; I don’t make videos. I’ll try to see if I can find ARCs that correspond the the Booktubeathon challenges, because then I can knock out two challenges at once. 🙂 ANYWAY, here are the rules:

  • It may be a physical ARC or eARC but it MUST be an ARC.
  • Yes, it can be an ARC that has released as long as it’s an ARC. I’m not going to nitpick much.
  • HAVE FUN WITH THIS! Feeling like you are being “forced” to read is the best way turn a fun event into a yucky obligation.
  • Update post! Octavia says: “I personally will do a post for each Saturday in August but that’s just me. You can update once a week, every other week or once for the whole darn event. This update can be in the form of a blog or tumblr post, vlog, link to your “ARC August 2015″ shelf or even an Instagram pic! I want to make this as easy and low pressure as possible for you.”

I’ll of course be updating you on my progress in my weekly Sunday Posts.

I’m going to focus on egalleys, but I have a number of physical ARCs I’d like to read, too. My plan was and still is to get to 80% on NetGalley by August, and I’m currently at 68% because I just got approved for a few new books. (Wouldn’t 100% be lovely, though? Sigh… a girl can dream.) I want to aim for at least 10 ARCs read in August. That’s pretty manageable, I think. That way I can read a few library books on the side, too.


Here are the 10 ARCs/eARCs I am prioritizing:

         

EDIT: Click on a title to read my review.

  1. The Red Chameleon by Erica Wright. It’s a finished paperback, but a review copy, so I’m counting it. Currently reading.
  2. Earth and Sky by Megan Crewe. I have the first two books so marathoning them seems likely.
  3. The Clouded Sky by Megan Crewe. I have the first two books so marathoning them seems likely.
  4. From a Distant Star by Karen McQuestion. Can I just say that I love Karen’s last name, McQuestion?!
  5. Tangled Webs by Lee Bross. I’ve heard some great things about this book. Excited! I believe it’s a historical.
  6. Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman. Erin Bowman and Erin Bow both have new books out this fall, interesting… This was also a Waiting on Wednesday pick of mine a while ago.
  7. The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow. Erin Bow and Erin Bowman both have new books out this fall, interesting… This was also a Waiting on Wednesday pick of mine a while ago.
  8. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. Been spoiled for the plot twist, but I’m still interested to read this.
  9. Hunter by Mercedes Lackey. This was actually a Waiting on Wednesday pick of mine a while ago.
  10. A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston. Another One Thousand and One Nights retelling. I’ve read The Wrath and the Dawn so I’m interested to see how E.K. Johnston spins the story.

And here are some more ARCs and eARCs I’d like to read if I get through the first ten:

    

  1. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff. Egalley.
  2. The Trouble with Destiny by Lauren Morrill. Egalley.
  3. The Firebird Mystery by Darrell Pitt. Egalley. Ashamed at how long I’ve had this without reading it, gulp…
  4. The Drowning by Camilla Lackberg. ARC.
  5. Everybody Rise by Stephanie Clifford. ARC.

Are you participating in ARC August, too?
If you are, what’s the ARC you’re most excited for?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

2 thoughts on “I’m participating in the 3rd Annual ARC August!

  1. That is a ton of arcs!!!! Good luck 😀 personally I think you should start with The Scorpion Rules because it ROCKS! I am in love with it so far :)! Like I said, good luck and happy reading. I can’t wait to see how you enjoy these books :D!!

    Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

