Book Reviews

Review — The Heir by Kiera Cass

Book title: The Heir
Author: Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection, #4
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release date: May 2015
Format: Hardcover, 342 pages
Source: Library.

add-to-goodreads-button


Synopsis:

Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won Prince Maxon’s heart. Now the time has come for Princess Eadlyn to hold a Selection of her own. Eadlyn doesn’t expect her Selection to be anything like her parents’ fairy-tale love story. But as the competition begins, she may discover that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she always thought.


The review:

Kiera Cass’s Selection books are frustrating, infuriating… and addicting. (Put the word “so” in front of those three adjectives.) I knew very well going into The Heir that it would be just like The Selection, only with boys. I have a love/hate relationship with these dystopian Bachelor/Bachelorette-like books. They’re pure fun entertainment, and not even of the highest quality, and mostly make me super irritated at all the characters and the stupid choices they make. Still, I gobbled up all the books like a bag of potato chips. After reading The Heir, however, I think I prefer America Singer over Eadlyn Schreave. Because Eadlyn is a BIOTCH! At least America was just dense, Eadlyn is dense and dumb and bitchy. (More on that later.)

The Heir is about Princess Eadlyn’s Selection, which is only being held because the country is falling apart and the public needs a “distraction.” (Whoa, value your daughter much?) America seems like a cardboard cutout here (it was weird, she seemed really out of character), and Maxon is just someone’s tired, aging dad (but I still love him!). Ruling a country is really taking its toll on him.

Anyway, Eadlyn’s parents basically force her into her own Selection, and pretty much twenty-four/seven she acts like the rudest, most selfish little brat possible. Unhappy about this “chore” she’s being made to do, she acts unbelievably mean to the boys (but also pretty much everyone she comes across) who have been selected as her potential suitors — she even humiliates some of them publicly! She manipulates people and situations without a care in the world. She’s just a spoiled, self-centered little bitch who gets mad when she doesn’t get what she wants. She even tried to force her twin brother, Ahren (gosh, I loved Ahren!), to stay at home and dump the love of his life, just so she, Eadlyn, could keep him around and not have to miss him. Like, bitch, please, don’t you care about your brother’s happiness? Apparently not…

I did (GASP!) start to like Eadlyn a little bit once she relaxed and let herself open up to the idea of maybe, just maybe, falling in love with one (or some!) of the boys. Well, at least she began to make friends with a few of them. Although she failed miserably in the beginning at even trying to get to know the guys. But the few nice boys (aka the front-runners) were utter sweethearts! I’m rooting for Kile, Henri, and Erik! (I think it’ll come down to either Kile or Erik in the end — and Erik isn’t even in the Selection!)

Moving past Eadlyn’s terrible personality… I felt like nothing happened in this book that matters to the plot (besides the Selection) in the long haul (at least the previous three books had a rebellion going on). The entire story was focused on Eadlyn’s marriage game (because that’s what this is), and even then most of the events and dates she went on were pretty lackluster. Probably the best part of the book was the group date she went on, cooking dinner in the palace kitchen. I vaguely remember some other random shenanigans like awkward television spots and a catastrophic parade, but I just felt so detached from everything. Still… I whizzed through the book in one sitting, because, like I said before, these books are addicting.

Something that I thought was odd was how Eadlyn didn’t know anything about her own parents’ Selection. Like, hello? Wouldn’t that be the first thing you asked about upon hearing you’re being forced into a Selection of your own? That is, if you haven’t snooped around long before that? It was strange. The Selections are broadcast on nationwide television — there’s got to be records of that footage. Unless Eadlyn’s been living under a rock her entire life. Which she very well might have, seeing how stupid and arrogant she is. Sigh. Eadlyn… you’re really an insufferable case. Also, as the future Queen, Eadlyn has “work” she has to do every day, but we never ever find out what queenly tasks she’s in charge of, or learning to do. I hate it when books skimp on the details and make it seem like the only “ruling” rulers do is read letters and sign documents. I wasn’t impressed with Eadlyn’s whole shtick of “I’m going to be the first Queen of Illea and nobody can get in my way because I’m going to be the Queen so there.” Girl, no wonder your people were throwing rotten vegetables at that parade! You’re an unlikable cow who needs someone to give you some real talk.

Despite my gripes, I did enjoy this book, believe it or not. It’s entertaining. It’s a quick read. It’s got some nice kissing. It’s got pretty dresses. There are definitely huge problems with it, but I still liked it enough to get through all of Eadlyn’s whining and insults and downright off-putting manner. Is The Heir my favorite book? Hell no. Is it as good as The Selection or The Elite or The One? No, I don’t think so — I think the previous books were actually better and, man, I had gripes with them, too. Will I be reading the next book in this ongoing series? You betcha. ♦


So tell me…

Have you read The Heir? If you haven’t, would you be interested to? Have you read any of the other Selection books? What’s a book that just aggravated you but you couldn’t put down? And what’s your favorite book cover that features a girl in a pretty dress? Comment below letting me know! And, as always, happy reading!

Mallory signature

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

6 thoughts on “Review — The Heir by Kiera Cass

  1. This series is just so FUN, despite their flaws. Haha. In all the reviews I’ve read, pretty much everyone has disliked the main character… and I totally see why. I didn’t much like her either, but like you, warmed up to her toward the end of the novel. I’m definitely looking forward to seeing how this concludes.

    Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

