Monthly Wrap-Ups · The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post — May 31st, 2015 [#12 ] | Monthly Wrap-Up Edition: May 2015 [#9]

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


Last week on the blog:

           


What I read last month:

Here are all the books I read in May 2015. (12 books!)

           

Fiction: 11, Nonfiction: 1
Total number of pages read this month (approximately): 3,955!

Click on a title to be directed to my review.

  1. The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows
  2. Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed
  3. A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas
  4. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
  5. Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins
  6. The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski
  7. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
  8. Hold Me Like a Breath by Tiffany Schmidt
  9. Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  10. Frigid by J. Lynn
  11. Undertow by Michael Buckley
  12. Find the Good by Heather Lende

Lightning round:

Quick facts about May’s reading…

  • Favorite? Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda! 5 stars!
  • Book I recommend to everyone? Written in the Stars, which is about forced marriage.
  • Wish I hadn’t read/really wasn’t worth my time? I didn’t read any terrible books this month, but The Orphan Queen, A Wicked Thing, and An Ember in the Ashes all really didn’t live up to my expectations.
  • Shortest? Frigid at 260 pages!
  • Longest? An Ember in the Ashes at 446 pages!
  • Most surprising? (Good or bad.) Bad: The Orphan Queen, A Wicked Thing, and An Ember in the Ashes were all disappointing and didn’t live up their hype. Good: Undertow really surprised me! I was really skeptical at first, but it won me over very quickly!
  • Book I could see myself rereading? Simon! And maaaybe Frigid, not gonna lie, haha.
  • Favorite cover? Miss Mayhem, An Ember in the Ashes, and Hold Me Like a Breath have very nice covers.
  • Any new ships? Simon and Blue, absolutely! I’m also now on board the Kestrel and Arin ship, finally, from The Winner’s Crime. Book boyfriends I’m crushing on are Black Knife from The Orphan Queen and Char from Hold Me Like a Breath.
  • Continue with any series? Yup, two! Miss Mayhem and The Winner’s Crime were both the second book their in their respective series!
  • Dragons? No dragons this month, sniffle…
  • Any illustrated maps inside? The Orphan Queen, The Winner’s Crime, and An Ember in the Ashes all had illustrated maps of their fantasy worlds.
  • Book I can’t believe I waited until now to finally read? Simon! Because everyone was raving about it! And Hold Me Like a Breath, because I took my sweet time getting around to the egalley I had…

Currently reading:

 

  • Mosquitoland by David Arnold. This has to go back to the library in a few days, though, and I’m unsure if I’ll finish it before then.
  • Bone Deep by Kim O’Brien. Archaeology! This is already unique and winning points from me, and I’m only a few chapters in.

Coming up on the blog:

Reviews of Undertow and Find the Good, another Waiting on Wednesday, and hopefully two tag posts! Also, I’m giving you a heads up that I might change my blog theme. Again. I swear I’ll try not to change it again until, like, the end of the year, haha. (I’m just really indecisive and like new shiny things!)


Planning to read next:

 


Most popular reviews:

Here’s what you clicked on most in May 2015.

  1. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli.
  2. The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black by E. B. Hudspeth.
  3. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir.
  4. Maus, I: A Survivor’s Tale: My Father Bleeds History by Art Spiegelman.
  5. The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey.
  6. Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed.
  7. The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows.
  8. Maus, II: A Survivor’s Tale: And Here My Troubles Began by Art Spiegelman.
  9. The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo.
  10. The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski.

Whoo! Simon was my most popular review this month! And look, The Resurrectionist got a lot of traction this month for some odd reason. (Not complaining!) Maus I and II are interesting finds here. I’m also glad The Girl at Midnight made #5 because I freaking loved that book!


Non-review posts:

Here are May’s non-review posts.

  1. Waiting on Wednesday — Paperweight by Meg Haston
  2. Waiting on Wednesday — Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson
  3. 10 Under 10k (Ratings on Goodreads) | #3
  4. The Find Me Tag
  5. Waiting on Wednesday — Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
  6. Monthly Wrap-Up — April 2015

And here are the month’s Sunday Posts (weekly wrap-ups):

May 10thMay 17thMay 24th


In other news…

Here’s an update on my 105 Reading Challenge (so far 74/105 books, or 70%!)

105 Challenge

The 105 Challenge is hosted by by Nori @ ReadWriteLove28.

Although I did not complete any categories, I did I read 12 books this month. And 10 of those 12 books went toward these 105 Challenge categories:

Hold Me Like a Breath and Find the Good I couldn’t fit into any of my categories, so they join the bunch of other books that I’ll put toward another challenge at the end of the year. Because I’m an overachiever, even a last-minute one.


What are you currently reading?
And what was your favorite book you read in May?

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

6 thoughts on “The Sunday Post — May 31st, 2015 [#12 ] | Monthly Wrap-Up Edition: May 2015 [#9]

  1. I’m really excited for Paperweight AND Simon Vs. Though I don’t know when I’ll get a chance to try that one because my library doesn’t have it sniffles piteously to self OMG I CAN’T WAIT FOR YOUR REVIEW OF TANGLED WEBS. That one sounds incredible.XD

    Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

