The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post — May 10th, 2015 | #9

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


Blogging life news/update:

Whoops, I forgot to do the Sunday Post for May 3rd. So this one will be a little meatier because I’ll be wrapping up two weeks. Yay, I guess?

Oh, yeah — and Happy Mother’s Day! To any mothers reading this. And mothers in general.

In reading news, I’m feeling a little uninspired to get through my ARC pile. It’s really heaping up. I especially have waaaay too many egalleys, and I’m finding myself less inclined to read on my iPhone/computer these days (yes, dear readers, I do not own a Kindle or iPad). I really want to reread some books I own and make time for some classics I suddenly have an interest in, but I’m feeling obligated to get through the review copies, some of which I no longer have much interest in reading. (Yes, I know it’s my own fault. Yes, I am seriously considering going on a book-requesting ban.) Sigh. Do any of you have advice for what to do in this situation? I’m feeling the ARC pressure and I’m really not loving it…

Besides that, however, I’m thinking about quitting my monthly wrap-up posts and just doing these weekly wrap-ups. So I would transition the majority of the content that would have made up the monthly wrap-up into the weekly wrap-up whenever a new month begins. You’ll still get my cover collages and a look at what was most popular in the month overall and stuff. I know a few of you guys really like to read my monthly wrap-ups (and I am personally someone who enjoys reading others’ monthly wrap-ups, too), but I’m finding it super time consuming. The monthly wrap-up seems like a giant project (my April wrap-up took hours and was really a chore to make, despite all the wonderful feedback I got about it — you’re the best, guys!) while my weekly wrap-up is reasonably quick to put together. I don’t know… what do y’all think?

And last, I’m going to try really hard to get back to some Top Ten Tuesday, Top 5 Wednesday, and tag posts. I don’t post book reviews every single day and I want to vary my content some more. I have a bunch of ideas for discussion posts, too, so hopefully I’ll feel motivated enough to write and stockpile a bunch of posts. Fingers crossed!

Now, onto the wrap-up!


What I read/reviewed in the past 2 weeks:

      

EDIT: Click on a title to read my review!


Currently reading:

  

  • The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski. I have a feeling this will be the next book I finish… I’m both excited and reluctant to return to the emotional problems between Kestrel and Arin. (In the meanwhile, go check out my review for book #1, The Winner’s Curse.)
  • Becoming Jinn by Lori Goldstein. This really isn’t doing it for me. I’m seriously thinking of DNF-ing this one, sadly… I’m more than a quarter of the way through and I really don’t care much about anyone except Henry, and only because he’s just so damn adorable. Everyone else… cardboard. I like the jinn mythology and the ability to magic some French fries into existence, but otherwise I’m really not interested.
  • Find the Good by Heather Lende. Started this April 30th, but haven’t gotten around to reading much of it yet. It’s a short little nonfiction book so I’m going to power through one day soon and finish it in one go, hopefully.

Planning to read next:

   

  • The Killing Season by Mason Cross. Thriller thriller thriller. I’m into thrillers (of the tv/movie kind) these days. This is something I’m pretty confident I’ll eat right up!
  • The World Before Us by Aislinn Hunter. My mother just finished this and had very mixed feelings about it. Now I’m curious what I’ll think!
  • The Silver Witch by Paula Brackston. Book promises witchiness. I’m in.
  • I Take You by Eliza Kennedy. Chick-lit, which I hardly ever read. I saw this at my local indie bookstore the other day and was cheered by its bright yellow cover and now want to give it a go.

The books I acquired in the past 2 weeks:

    

  • Freedom’s Child by Jax Miller. ARC. Thank you, Crown Publishers (Penguin Random House)!
  • Redemption by R. K. Ryals. Kindle. Bought.
  • The Killing Season by Mason Cross. Hardcover. Thank you, Iris at Pegasus Books!
  • Eight Hundred Grapes by Laura Dave. ARC. Thank you, Simon & Schuster!
  • The Purgatorium by Eva Pohler. Kindle. Bought.

The library haul:

Here’s what I picked up from the library in the past two weeks.

     


Non-review posts:

The non-review posts from the past two weeks.


Script - So Tell Me

What are you currently reading?

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

One thought on “The Sunday Post — May 10th, 2015 | #9

  1. I’m not sure I’ll Give You the Sun is something I’m going to like either! But I did borrow it a couple of weeks ago, and I have been hearing great things about it, so… Ooh, I’m curious to see what you’ll think of The Burning Sky! I’ve seen that around the internet a bit — and I love love love that cover. 😀 Enjoy your new stack!

    Liked by 1 person

Got something to say? SPILL!

