Tags, Awards & Challenges

The Liebster Award! (Or, 22 quick facts about me)

Liebster Award 2

I was so fortunate to be nominated for the Liebster Award not just once, but twice! Thank you, Rupert from Paranorensics and Amy from The Literature Life! This award is a great way to help those of us with smaller audiences meet new blogger friends. Keep reading for the fun to start!


Here are the rules:

  1. Thank and link back to the person who nominated you.
  2. Answer the questions given by the nominator.
  3. Nominate 11 other bloggers with less than 200 followers.
  4. Create 11 new questions for the nominees to answer.
  5. Notify your nominees.

I’m using “200” loosely. If I can find a follower count on a blog, I’ll go off that. Otherwise, I’ll use Bloglovin’.


Here are my 11 nominees!

(If you’ve already been nominated or don’t do these types of posts, just know that I really like you and your blog!)

  1. AJ @ Read All The Things!
  2. Ashley & Anne @ Lovely Literature
  3. Crystal @ Infinite Ink
  4. Eliza @ The Bookish Universe
  5. Grace @ Words Like Silver
  6. Liam @ Liam’s Library
  7. Maddy @ Portals Within Pages
  8. Natalie @ Flowers In My Books
  9. Olivia @ Fluttering Pages
  10. Tiffany @ The Bookish Thought
  11. Vlora @ Reviews and Cake

Here are my 11 questions for them!

  1. What time of day do you prefer to read during?
  2. What was the longest amount of time it took you to read a book, and which book was it?
  3. How do you keep track of your thoughts on a particular book? (Annotations, post-its, notebook, Goodreads reading progress, your head?)
  4. What is the first book that comes to mind when you think of the word “haunting”?
  5. What is a book that you had to read for school that really surprised you? (Good or bad?)
  6. Do you have any reading must-haves, like a favorite beverage or snack, or specific music you play in the background?
  7. What is a series you feel you’re one of the few people who hated it?
  8. What book or series would you most want to see a film or TV adaptation of?
  9. How many books did you read in 2014?
  10. If you could visit any fantasy realm, which would you pick?
  11. What villain could you tolerate having dinner with?

Now here are my answers to Rupert’s questions:

  1. What song really gets on your nerves? “Happy” by Pharrell Williams. That song has been played way too much. Thankfully the craze surrounding it seems to be over, but for the longest time I was so unhappy whenever I heard it. And that was about every ten minutes, it felt like.
  2. Who makes you laugh? Mamrie Hart, along with anyone she does a collab-video with.
  3. Would you have liked an 11th commandment, and what would it be? I have no idea. I’ve never thought of this before…
  4. What fictional character would you like to see run for President? Hermione Granger or Annabeth Chase. Both of those girls are wonderfully strong heroines who I think would do a great job running the country.
  5. Do you know anyone with a really strange name? Not really strange, no. Or, no one I can think of at this moment.
  6. What books have you read more than twice? I’m pretty sure I’ve read the Percy Jackson series three times. I’ve also read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone a gazillion times (I’ve only read the entire series twice, though). And Because of Winn-Dixie (but anything by Kate DiCamillo) usually gets a reread every year or two.
  7. Do you have any recurring dreams? I used to. I vividly remember one where I was somewhere by an underground river trying to save some friends while dealing with a villain. I had it twice, and the second time I had it I was in a lucid state. It was very bizarre. I don’t think it ended well.
  8. Do your parents have any strange habits? None that I can think of… Does spying on the neighbors count?
  9. What’s your favourite saying or expression? “Well, if it floats your boat…”
  10. Have you ever berated someone for doing something that you do all the time? Guilty. I go through phases where I say “like” every few words. I’m usually not conscious I’m saying it, and I’ve been berated by other people (okay, just my mom) for it. I’m guilty of telling my friends on occasion to stop saying “like” all the time, too.
  11. What music do you want to have played at your funeral? Something instrumental and beautiful and melancholy. I have never thought about this before and I really don’t want to plan too far in advance.

And here are my answers to Amy’s questions:

  1. Where is your favourite reading spot? My bed!
  2. How long does it tend to take you to read an average length novel? My average is about three or four days.
  3. Ebooks or hard copies? Hard copies, but I’ve been reading a lot of egalleys lately and I’m not minding it. Still, nothing beats holding a wonderful printed book in your hands.
  4. Where is your favourite book store in the world? I love the Strand, but recently an indie bookstore has opened up in my neighborhood and it’s a magical place and I have to keep myself from buying everything in sight.
  5. What is your favourite book to (film/TV/stage/game) adaptation? Off the top of my head: Harry Potter and Game of Thrones and Sherlock!
  6. What was the last book you found yourself not able to finish? The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black. Which really baffles me because I love Holly Black and I’m a reader who really does like faeries and the book started off so promising. I think I dnf-ed it because I just didn’t care for the protagonist, Hazel.
  7. Have you ever met any of your favourite authors? Nope. I’ve met very few authors in my life. Hopefully that’ll change in the future!
  8. If you weren’t a book blogger (or bookish at all), what would you spend your spare time doing? Writing fiction. But usually being a writer means you’re also a reader, so if I didn’t write, I’d probably be a baby name blogger because name etymology is fascinating. But a lot of people who love name meanings also like to write (hello — naming characters!), so if not name blogging then probably film/TV blogging. I’ve always wanted to be more involved in what’s happening on-screen. I love films (more stories!) and wish I had more time (and money) to go to the movie theater regularly. If I wasn’t someone who liked writing but still wanted to talk about things, I’d probably be a vlogger. And if I weren’t someone who just had to share my opinion with the world, then I’d probably be interested in acting (haha, another form of storytelling!) or maybe take up a musical instrument again.
  9. What was your favourite book of 2014? The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. It was freaking beautiful. If you haven’t read it, go read it now. If you have read it — and loved it, too — then we’re best friends already.
  10. What are you most looking forward to reading in the rest of 2015? A crap-ton of books, that’s what. I am really excited about Winter by Marissa Meyer and Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas, both out in the fall.
  11. If you were (or are) a writer, which genre of books would you write? FANTASY! Young Adult fantasy. But also some dystopia and some contemporary.

Once again, thank you Rupert and Amy for nominating me! It’s always a nice feeling when someone gives a shout-out. 🙂 I’m looking forward to seeing the answers from the awesome bloggers I’ve nominated!


Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

4 thoughts on “The Liebster Award! (Or, 22 quick facts about me)

  1. These were some great questions/answers. I have to say that one of my favourite book-to-screen adaptations has to be Game of Thrones as well. Even though there are parts which are quite different from the books — I think it’s really well done and the acting is exceptional. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Got something to say? SPILL!

