Top Ten Tuesday

Books From My Childhood That I Would Love To Revisit | Top Ten Tuesday [#9]

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.


There are so many books I’d love to revisit/reread. I am an avid rereader, especially when it comes to lovely, amazing children’s/middle grade books. Here are a bunch I’d love to revisit — hopefully this year. 🙂


The Top Ten:

         

  1. Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh. Because who doesn’t love snoopy Harriet who basically writes crap about people?
  2. The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke. In addition to The Thief Lord, I also really want to reread Cornelia’s Dragon Rider and Inkheart trilogy.
  3. Into the Wild by Erin Hunter. Was anyone else a humongous Warriors fan? For years I was obsessed with these books. I collected every book through the first three arcs, the first two or three books in the fourth arc, and most of the super editions. I know they’re not amazing books and there are other series far greater, but for some reason I loved these cats and their political and personal battles (har-har), and I really super badly want to marathon ALL THE BOOKS. EDIT: I read the entire first series! Check out my reviews of Into the Wild, Fire and Ice, Forest of Secrets, Rising Storm, A Dangerous Path, and The Darkest Hour!
  4. Redwall by Brian Jacques. True story: When I was caught up on Warriors books that were published and had no new books in the series to buy and read, I found Redwall because it’s another series about anthropomorphic animals. The writing is much different and higher in level than the Warriors books, but I’d love to reread Redwall and hopefully marathon the whole series.
  5. Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery. One of my favorite children’s classics. Anne Shirley is awesome. The movie’s amazing, too!
  6. Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild. The movie with Emma Watson wasn’t very good, but the book’s adorable.
  7. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. The YouTube series adaptation of Little Women has me extremely interested in rereading this book. I read it when I was younger and I didn’t like it much, but maybe I’ll like it this time around. Maybe I just wasn’t old enough to really understand the trials the March sisters go through.
  8. Matilda by Roald Dahl. I want to revisit all of Roald Dahl’s books, actually. This and The Witches in particular.
  9. Saffy’s Angel by Hilary McKay. A lovely middle grade book that grows on me every time I reread it.
  10. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling. Duh.

Have you read any of these books?
If not, do any of them pique your interest?
What’s a book from your childhood you’d love to revisit?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

23 thoughts on “Books From My Childhood That I Would Love To Revisit | Top Ten Tuesday [#9]

  1. Little Women and Anne of Green Gables are both books I’ve been meaning to read but never got around to. I do remember loving The Thief Lord, though–I rather want to read Funke’s books in German, just to see how different the translations feel.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have got to read Anne of Green Gables!! Anne never ceases talking and it is the best thing ever, haha! And do you read/speak/know German? (I sure don’t, haha.) Because I bet that’d be super cool to read Cornelia’s book in their original language.

      Like

    2. I have Anne on my shelf, fortunately, thoguh only the firat in the series.

      I do speak German. It’s my first language, actually, but I don’t read much in it because German books aren’t easy to come by in the States (far as I know, at least).

      Like

    3. Learning languages can be really fun (though frustrating at beginning levels as you don’t yet have the vocabulary to express the ideas you would like). Comparatively speaking, German shouldn’t be too difficult for native English speakers, but I’m hardly a good judge.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I LOVED Little Women growing up (I own the 1994 movie and have seen all the versions including stage/play… total dork!) and Anne of Green Gables, though I have to admit to only reading the first book. I would like to reread it and then read the rest…are they just as good? Mallory this is a fantastic top 10!

    Like

  3. Such good books on your list! I LOVED Hilary Mckay’s books and I still have her one, Permanent Rose. I’d actually quite like to reread her books now! I also LOVED Anne of Green Gables, I reread it a couple of months ago, in fact, and enjoyed it just as much! 🙂

    Kyra @ Blog of a Bookaholic
    My TTT Post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The second I saw Redwall I followed you immediately. I loved those books with a passion when I was a bit younger and I’ve always meant to finish off the series but for some reason I never did.

    Matilda, Harry Potter and Little Women are all great as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Got something to say? SPILL!

