The Sunday Post

The Sunday Post — March 8th, 2015 | #1

The Sunday Post is hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer.


What I read/reviewed:

   

  • Echo by Pam Munoz Ryan. Excellent historical fiction middle grade novel that interweaves three different narratives. Review copy from Scholastic Press.
  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. While the story isn’t very original, it is a highly entertaining and mad-manipulating fantasy dystopia hybrid.
  • The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma. Those ballet inaccuracies drove me up the wall… This book just didn’t agree with me. Review copy from Algonquin Young Readers via NetGalley.
  • Gronk: A Monster’s Story: Volume I by Katie Cook. Cute graphic novel! Review copy from Diamond Book Distributors via NetGalley.


Currently reading:

 

  • How to Fly with Broken Wings by Jane Elson. Not loving this so far. The writing isn’t impressive, but the book’s not long so I should be able to get through this soon. Review copy from Hodder Children’s Books (Hachette Children’s Books) via NetGalley. Thank, guys!
  • My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga. This book is so far excellent. I wasn’t sure about how I’d react to a seemingly dark contemporary about depression and suicide, but this is really amazing me, and I love how there is a lightness and humor that is keeping the book from being an absolute emotional train wreck. So far I’m about halfway through.

Planning to read next:

 


The books I acquired:

Here are the books I acquired this week.

    

  • A Love Like Blood by Marcus Sedgwick. Hardcover. Aaaaah, Marcus Sedgwick’s first adult novel! I am absolutely overjoyed to have this! I want to start it really soon, too. Thank you Iris over at Pegasus Books!
  • The Mapmaker’s Children by Sarah McCoy. ARC. Thanks, Crown Publishers!
  • Hold Me Like a Breath by Tiffany Schmidt. Egalley via NetGalley. Look at that GORGEOUS cover!!! Thanks, Bloomsbury USA Children’s!
  • The Doublecross (And Other Skills I Learned as a Superspy) by Jackson Pearce. Egalley via NetGalley. I’ve read every single one of Jackson Pearce’s novels — even her historical fiction book Tsarina under the name J. Nelle Patrick. I’m so excited for The Doublecross, her first middle grade novel! Thanks, Bloomsbury USA Children’s!
  • Material Girls by Elaine Dimopoulos. Egalley via NetGalley. Thanks, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt BFYR!

The library haul:

Here’s what I picked up from the library this week.

  


Non-review posts:


Script - So Tell Me

What are you currently reading?

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

2 thoughts on “The Sunday Post — March 8th, 2015 | #1

  1. So many awesome books here! I’ve been hearing great things about My Heart and Other Black Holes, I can’t wait for that one. Too bad about The Walls Around Us, the ballet inaccuracies would have bothered me as well. Man, Hold Me Like a Breath IS gorgeous! Enjoy these!

    Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

