Top Ten Tuesday

Books I Want to Read from the Historical Fiction Genre | Top Ten Tuesday [#5]

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.


Here are the top (ahem, eleven) historical fiction books I want to read. (Yes, yes, I know, I am terrible at picking only 10 books.)


The Top Ten (*cough* eleven):

          

  1. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray.
  2. Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden.
  3. The Help by Kathryn Stockett.
  4. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein.
  5. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.
  6. The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons.
  7. What I Saw and How I Lied by Judy Blundell.
  8. The Diviners by Libba Bray.
  9. A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller.
  10. Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus.
  11. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr.

Have you read any of these books?
Do any of them pique your interest?
What’s a historical fiction book you’re dying to read?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

17 thoughts on “Books I Want to Read from the Historical Fiction Genre | Top Ten Tuesday [#5]

  1. I’ve read What I Saw and How I Lied, and gave it a 3-star review at Amazon. I hated the instalove, Evie’s character, and just the general direction the story went in. The title also doesn’t bear much relation to what actually happens in the book, and it just didn’t strike me as historically accurate for a teenage girl of the 1940s to go chasing after older men and put herself in risky situations. Even a sheltered girl would’ve known that risked her reputation and scandal.

    Like

    1. He is, he’s also a great actor 🙂 the tv show is very similar to the books from the clips I have seen (still not out in Scotland, go figure 😦 ) and all the actors are really talented! I hope you enjoy reading the book at some point.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your list because I’ve actually read most of them. That never happens! I loved OUTLANDER, CODE NAME VERITY, and THE HELP. MEMOIRS OF A GEISHA is fascinating. I didn’t love A GREAT AND TERRIBLE BEAUTY, but I do really want to read THE DIVINERS. I should probably make that happen soon. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  3. YES YES YES read A Great and Terrible Beauty!! It’s one of my absolute favorites–Libba Bray does an amazing job with the Victorian-era setting, the characters are wonderful, and the magic is pretty awesome, too. And The Diviners is also awesome! I’m looking forward to rereading it when the sequel, Lair of Dreams, comes out this summer. 🙂 Of course, like most of the blogosphere I could flail all day about Code Name Verity, but I’ll spare you–just know it’s incredible. (The first time reading it, you might be confused as to why there’s so much seemingly irrelevant information about planes and things–I know I was! Power through if you can, though, because the story’s worth it.)

    Anyway, though, All the Light We Cannot See is on my to-read list, too! If you get to it before me, let me know what you think of it, haha. 😉

    Like

Got something to say? SPILL!

