Top 5 Wednesday

Favorite Antiheroes | Top 5 Wednesday [#1]

Top 5 Wednesday is hosted by Lainey @ Ginger Reads Lainey.


This week’s topic asks us to list our favorite antiheroes. When I think of an antihero, I think of someone who isn’t a typical hero/heroine type. I think of an antihero as someone very conflicted who doesn’t always care about doing the right thing for everyone (a lot of times they’re only concerned about themselves), or someone who even might be a villain–who makes “good” decisions in the end.

This list was really hard to make! I can’t think of that many antiheroes I’ve read about and liked… so I only have 4 on my list from books, and 1 from a film. Here they are, not listed in any particular order…


The Top 5:

Severus Snape

from the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling.

Probably everyone’s gonna have Snape on their list, haha. But honestly… Snape is an amazing character. You learn his whole story by the end and then all the pieces fall into place and you understand why he did what he did. And Alan Rickman played him to perfection in the movies.


Erik/the Phantom

from The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux.

You hate the Phantom, you love the Phantom, you feel for the Phantom… I haven’t read the original novel, but I have seen the movie and the filmed version of the musical and just oh my goodness the Phantom is such a twisted and lonely person and Ramin Karimloo has the voice of an angel. Seriously. Check out this YouTube video of him singing “Til I Hear You Sing” (which is actually from the musical’s sequel, Love Never Dies).


Sherlock Holmes

from the Sherlock Holmes series by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

I haven’t read any Sherlock Holmes… please don’t hate me. But he’s definitely not a “likeable” person, I would say. Benedict Cumberbatch portrays him in the BBC show so amazingly that you can’t help but love him, but if you knew Sherlock in real life, I’m pretty sure you’d run away screaming very shortly.

EDIT: I have now read the first Sherlock Holmes mystery: A Study in Scarlet! Read my review here!


Tyrion Lannister

from the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin.

I read, like, a third of A Game of Thrones before I gave up. I am a huge TV show fan, though, and I do want to read the books eventually. But Tyrion is definitely an antihero, I would say. From Peter Dinklage’s amazing portrayal… he’s smart but not very likeable at first, but as things turn to shiz around him he starts to (grudgingly) take on some responsibilities–and gets caught up in some truly horrific circumstances. He’s not a knight in shining armor, he’s not someone who readily and eagerly wants to do good in the world. Tyrion just wants to survive.


Darth Vader

from the Star Wars movies.

I know you’re thinking, “What?! But he’s a villain!” Just hang on a sec: SPOILER! (C’mon, though, if you haven’t watched Star Wars have you been living under a rock?) Redemption at the very end. END OF SPOILER! And, if you’ve seen the (icky) prequel trilogy, a definite antihero type back then, too. 😉


Who are your favorite antiheroes? (Books or movies?)
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

4 thoughts on “Favorite Antiheroes | Top 5 Wednesday [#1]

Got something to say? SPILL!

