Lists & Such

Recommendations — 10 Under 10k (Ratings on Goodreads) | #2

Here are 10 more books with under 10,000 ratings on Goodreads. (Click here to view my first 10 Under 10k post.) This segment spotlights lesser-known books that I enjoyed and recommend and think deserve some more recognition. The books, a mixture of Young Adult and Middle Grade, will be listed from fewest ratings to most ratings as of writing this post.


The Recommendations:

         

Click on a title to view it on Goodreads.

  1. The Dragon of Lonely Island by Rebecca Rupp. 490 ratings. First published October 1998. | This was one of my favorite books as a kid; I read it so many times. It’s a “story within a story” kind of book, in which the three heads of the dragon each tell three separate magical stories.
  2. The Mozart Season by Virginia Euwer Wolff. 624 ratings. First published 1991. | This is a wonderful coming of age sort of novel about a girl who is preparing for a music competition. I read this book when I was young and learning the violin myself, but it wasn’t until I was a bit older that I really appreciated this beautiful story.
  3. Cornelia and the Audacious Escapades of the Somerset Sisters by Lesley M. M. Blume. 1,818 ratings. First published July 2006. | I mentioned this book in my Green Covers, Recommendations post. It also happens to be another childhood favorite of mine. Another “story within a story” kind of book. The Somerset sisters are hilarious, and their adventures are a joy to read about.
  4. Witchlanders by Lena Coakley. 1,990 ratings. First published August 2011. | I randomly saw this at my library and checked it out purely because of the “witch” in the title. I ended up loving it; it was surprisingly great. I’d like to reread this sometime because it’s been a few years and I want to experience the greatness all over again.
  5. Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell. 2,239 ratings. First published February 2013. | This is an adorable Middle Grade novel about a girl who is searching for her mother–by patrolling the rooftops of Paris. It took me about halfway through to get really interested, but then the story really picked up and I was just enchanted. (Fun fact: my mother actually recommended this to me!)
  6. The White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean. 2,845 ratings. First published September 2005. | I love survival stories. This is a survival story to the freaking extreme: Sym gets stranded in the Antarctic. The first time I read this book I was actually quite young, but I adored it.
  7. Slide by Jill Hathaway (Slide, #1). 5,128 ratings. First published March 2012. | This book surprised me. I didn’t expect to like it so much. It’s a supernatural book about a girl who can slip into the minds of others. It was a very interesting book about Vee’s quest to find a murderer.
  8. Ingo by Helen Dunmore (Ingo, #1). 6,267 ratings. First published September 2005. | Mermaids! Beautiful writing! Terrific series! Highly highly highly recommend!
  9. Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza (Mila 2.0, #1). 7,250 ratings. First published March 2013. | Very cool and fast-paced sci-fi book about Mila, an android. I want to reread this so I can read the sequel, Renegade.
  10. Chomp by Carl Hiaasen. 8,966 ratings. First published March 2012. | Carl Hiaasen’s Middle Grade books are hilarious and entertaining. I think Flush is my favorite of these four companion-ish books about kids trying to save Florida wildlife in various ways, but Chomp is a lot of fun too!

Have you read any of these books?
Do any of them particularly pique your interests?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

9 thoughts on “Recommendations — 10 Under 10k (Ratings on Goodreads) | #2

  1. Witchlanders sounds pretty awesome :). This is a good post idea, helping to promote the lesser knowns. While not very popular they still shine in their own ways ^_^ thanks for the list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OH MY GOSH SOMEONE ELSE HAS READ WITCHLANDERS!! I read that book several years ago and loved it–it’s such a marvelous story with such rich worldbuilding! The one thing I remember thinking afterward was I wished there was a planned sequel, because I never felt like Falpian or his culture got fleshed out as much as I’d have liked. I felt like I knew Ryder and his world intimately but only got a glimpse of Falpian and his, so I’d have liked more in that respect–but otherwise, SUCH a good book! I gave it five stars, haha. 🙂

    Also: Carl Hiaasen! I think I’ve read a few of his middle-grade books–I KNOW I’ve read Hoot–and I absolutely adored the movie adaptation of Hoot, which I watched before I read it, so even though I don’t remember much from his books, his stories hold a special place in my heart. 😉

    As usual, great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMIGOSH SOMEONE ELSE HAS READ WITCHLANDERS!!! 😀 Yup, it’s good, isn’t it? I do agree that it needs a sequel to flesh things out more–and continue the awesome story. Haha, now I reeeeeally want to reread it. Maybe later in the year… And Carl Hiaasen is certainly terrific. Hoot is definitely his most well-known, and I love it, too. I saw the movie after reading the book, and, while the film was fun, I like the novel better. 🙂

      Like

  3. I’ve only heard of a few of these so I’m glad you’ve listed these! The only two I’ve actually read are Mila 2.0 and Ingo, and I adored Ingo. Picked it up at the library on a whim and was obsessed with finding the other books in the series but my library didn’t have them because they weren’t well known :/ I’ve also heard amazing things about Witchlanders, so now I want to read it even more!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I love this idea! Kudos to you for coming up with such a creative idea. 🙂 I read Cornelia and the Audacious Escapades a long time ago, but I remember that it was good. AND OH MY GOODNESS INGO INGO INGO!!! I love love loved that book! I only read the first two books, but I am planning to re-read the whole series soon. I also enjoed Mila 2.0.

    Liked by 1 person

Got something to say? SPILL!

