Lists & Such

My Top 14 Books of 2014

2014 was a fabulous year of reading. I didn’t start blogging until late August, but I read so many great books earlier in the year. The earliest read on this favorites list is April, and the latest one is December. I can’t bear to rank these all from least favorite to favorite of the favorites, so I’m just going to go alphabetically by author (but I do have some clear winners). I also cheated with some entries and lumped the books in a series together to count as one entry on this list. Because I can.


The top 4 best of 2014:

FIRST PLACE:
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

SECOND PLACE:
Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick

And

 

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin
tied with
The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
for THIRD PLACE!

The remaining 10 books are below (as are those 4). Click on a title to read my review (if I reviewed the book on the blog) — I go into much more detail than I do in this post. (Publishers and years are according to Goodreads, and/or taken from the editions I read.) This list only includes fiction, and includes “back-list” books, not just books that were published this year.

So here are the top 14 of 2014! Books are listed alphabetically by author.


The top 14 of 2014:

                  

  • The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black. Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2013, hardcover. Read May 2014. ♥ Contains vampires! This is such a great, original take on vampires. It took me a while to get into the story, but after a while I was absolutely hooked and by the end I was dying for more. I also restrained myself from making numerous vampire puns just now… 😉
  • The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken (The Darkest Minds, #1). Disney Hyperion, 2012, hardcover. Read May 2014. ♥ One of the two futuristic/dystopia “powers” novels on this list. This was amazing. It’s an emotional roller-coaster of a journey and I loved every minute of it so much. It’s dark, but so great.
  • 172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad. Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2013, paperback. Read April 2014. ♥ One of the two(ish) space book entries on the list! Contains doppelgangers! It takes a while to get interesting–pretty much until the kids get to the moon. But then it is freaking perfection. So chilling and disturbing. It messes with your mind.
  • Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins (Rebel Belle, #1). Putnam Juvenile, 2014, hardcover. Read November 2014. ♥ Contains Paladins, Mages, and Oracles! Read my review, where I go very in-depth about what makes this book so great
  • Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin. Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2011, paperback. Read July 2014. ♥ My tied #3 favorite of the year. DRAGON! Such a beautiful, magical fantasy concerning Chinese folklore. I knew I’d love this book, but I didn’t know how much I’d love it. And it’s A WHOLE DARN LOT.
  • Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass, #1, #2 and #3). Bloomsbury USA Children’s; 2013, paperback (ToG); 2013, hardcover (CoM), 2014, hardcover (HoF). Read August, September, December 2014, respectively. ♥ High fantasy! Contains dragons and witches! I have reviews on these three books! Click for Throne of Glass, click for Crown of Midnight, click for Heir of Fire. Heir of Fire was definitely my favorite of the three, but they are all great and definitely worth reading.
  • Cinder and Scarlet and Cress by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles,#1, #2, and #3). Feiwel & Friends; 2012, hardcover (Cinder); 2013, hardcover (Scarlet); 2014, hardcover (Cress). Read all in August 2014. ♥ The other of the two(ish) space book entries on the list! Futuristic/dystopia sci-fi! Contains aliens! Such great fairy tale retellings–so original doing it with sci-fi! I can’t choose if I like Cinder or Cress best of these three. But I also can’t wait for Winter, the fourth novel in the series, to come out!
  • The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman (His Dark Materials, #1). Knopf Books for Young Readers, 1998, paperback. Reread (yes, I am a rereader!) July 2014. ♥ My tied #3 favorite of the year. Alternate Earth/parallel universes fantasy! Contains talking ice bears and daemons and witches! Even better than the first time I read it, back when I was in middle school. Philip Pullman is a master.
  • Through the Ever Night and Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi (Under the Never Sky, #2 and #3). HarperCollins; 2013, hardcover (TtEN); 2014, hardcover (ItSB). Read both in July 2014. ♥ The other of the two futuristic/dystopia “powers” novels on this list. I liked Through the Ever Night a lot, but it was slower because it dealt a lot with Perry’s struggle to maintain leadership and trust. Into the Still Blue, the conclusion to the trilogy, was actually quite excellent, and I think my favorite in the series. Also, if I’m being completely honest, these two books are the #14 slot on the list. There were a bunch of other books that could easily have been on here as #14, but for some reason these guys beat the others. I think it was just based on my mood while curating this list. Had I been feeling differently you’d probably be looking at a different title right now.
  • Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. St. Martin’s Press, 2013, hardcover. Read September 2014. ♥ This is such a beautiful story. I loved Eleanor and Park so dearly and my feelings were all over the place here. Sniffle. 🙂
  • Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgewick. Square Fish, 2014, paperback. Read August 2014. ♥ Probably my #2 favorite of the year. One of the two historical fiction books on this list (though this also contains futuristic elements). This. It was gorgeous, heartbreaking, and haunting. It’s about reincarnation and how the same souls continue to meet in every lifetime. Absolutely fantastic and chilling.
  • The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. Scholastic Press, 2011, hardcover. Read June 2014. ♥ My #1 favorite of the year. Contains water horses! Just, agh, if you haven’t read this yet you need to. It’s slower-paced and takes time setting up the story, but the characters feel so realistic and their relationships evolve logically, so push through. It’s amazing, this book. It has still stayed with me all these months later. I want to reread it in 2015.
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #1). Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2012, paperback. Read July 2014. ♥ Contains angels and demons and mythology! This book was amazing and mind-blowing and gave me the feels and was so powerful and I really want to read the rest of the series. So unique and different.
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Alfred A. Knopf, 2007, paperback. Read July 2014. ♥ The other of the two historical fiction books on this list, this one about World War II. Just breathtaking. This honestly is kinda considered a modern classic. And I agree it deserves that amount of reverence.

Have you read any of these books?
If so, what did you think of them?
If you have not, would you want to read any of them now?
Also, what was your favorite book of 2014?
Comment below letting me know!
And cheers to reading in 2015!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

Got something to say? SPILL!

