Tags, Awards & Challenges

Would You Rather? (Book Edition) Tag!

I have watched countless Would You Rather? Book Edition tag videos on the BookTube, and think it’s time for me to jump in. Emma from emdoesbookreviews did this tag recently on her blog (on December 8th), and she’s the one who finally motivated me to do it as well. Here we go!


1. Would you rather only read trilogies or only read standalones?

As much as I love standalones, I think I have to go with trilogies on this one. I (usually) like stories that continue for multiple books, and like being able to read about characters that change and grow over a longer period of time. The majority of the books I read are also series, so this isn’t the toughest question… but I would really miss reading good standalones (like Eleanor and Park, Midwinterblood, The Book Thief, Because of Winn-Dixie, Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, The Scorpio Races, 172 Hours on the Moon, Fangirl, and Room, some terrific standalones I read this year–and some of which you might possibly see on my Top 14 of 2014…).

2. Would you rather only read male or female authors?

It doesn’t matter if the author is male or female. All that matters is if their book is good. Though, statistically, I believe that the majority of authors I’ve read happen to be female. I don’t pay any attention to this when picking new books to read, however. There are plenty of books by male authors that are fantastic. I’m not going to choose which I’d rather because this is a dumb question.

3. Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

I want to support bookstores, chain and indies. But money is not something I have in abundance. Amazon wins this question, but I find that using my local library has been a godsend for me these past years. They don’t always get new books in right away, and more obscure books they often don’t have, but I’ve saved so much money while still being able to read almost all of the books I want.

4. Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

Movies. TV shows can get soooooooo frustrating if story arcs are drawn out too long. Except for Game of Thrones (Game of Thrones, Game of Thrones, Game of Throoooooones!), I much prefer movie versions of books. Yes, there is the argument that movies have to cut and therefore change so much material while TV shows can be more faithful to their original source due to all the additional hours they have, but, like I said before–I hate things getting dragged out. Plus, then you have to wait a week in between every episode and that can be infuriating.

5. Would you rather only read 5 pages per day or 5 books a week?

What kind of question is this? OF COURSE 5 BOOKS A WEEK! On occasion I have actually achieved this, but it’s rare. But, duh, if we all could read 5 books a week we’d be getting through our TBR piles in a jiffy!

6. Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?

I’d rather be a professional author. As much as I love reviewing books, I’ve always loved writing stories of my own. One day… *Hopeful smile.*

7. Would you rather read your top 20 books over and over for the rest of your life or always read a new book?

New books. I am a big fan of rereading books, but to be limited to only 20 books for the rest of my life doesn’t sound that fun, even if those books are amazing. Gotta try new things all the time! But… not being able to read my favorite books ever again is definitely a saddening thing to think about. *Sniffle.*

8. Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?

Neither profession excites me, but I think I’d prefer to be a bookseller. You get to be around new, clean books and get access to new releases immediately. That’s the downside of the library–the books get passed around from person to person, and you all know that any obsessed reader has very strong feelings about loaning out books and how one treats/handles books. So I’m going with bookseller on this question, based purely on the clean, barely-touched books.

9. Would you rather read only your favorite genre, or every other genre but your favorite?

This. Is. Such. A. Hard. Question! My favorite genre is fantasy. I would be devastated not being able to read it. I think of the other genres and while I love a bunch of them, I don’t love them quite as much as I love fantasy. So… I’m going to be alone on this decision and say I’d rather only read my favorite genre. I just couldn’t live without fantasy!

10. Would you rather only read ebooks or physical books?

Physical books. While ereaders are practical, physical books are just the best. There’s nothing like holding a nice hardcover in bed, turning the pages, hearing them whoosh, smelling the paper and ink…


I tag…

Doing the cop-out: Everyone! If I’ve inspired you to do this tag, linky back so we can all compare answers and discuss why. 🙂


Would you rather read trilogies or standalones for the rest of your life?
Comment below letting me know!

Follow me @ toweroftomes on Twitter Instagram Goodreads | and Bloglovin’!

One thought on “Would You Rather? (Book Edition) Tag!

Got something to say? SPILL!

